Crazy Angry Croatians


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Hvar
July 7th 2009
Published: July 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Throughout the last few weeks I have been given the opportunity to engage with many croatians, and now that I am safely out of the country I feel I can finally right about it. I am not writing about all croatians, I am however writing about the majority of croatians that I have encountered. These croatians i am speaking about have come across as incredibly angry and bitter people who do not want to have any of us tourists in their country yet desperately need us to be there for them to earn a living (they arent just bitter towards tourists, they also dont hold back on each other). Im not angry, frustrated or annoyed about their attitude, actually, I think it is quite amusing and funny. Their behaviour has actually given me many, many good stories. I cant write about all of them for it would take a long long time, however I can mention a few.

Service with a smile does not exist in any form of customer service, and if it does it is definately a discussion point amoungst travellers. One significant exception to this were my bosses as at the green lizard hostel. The two of them are sisters and are always smiling. One is happy and the other just puts it on. The one who puts it on is definately in the crazy angry category, lol. This sister rides everyone's arses to work hard and to a high standard and when she is not happy she always makes scathing comments with the biggest smile to pretend that she is only joking, as I didnt have to put up with it for long I found it quite amusing and I was always thinking "gee, I have had some damn good bosses" (that's you too old cheese). However I do feel sorry for the people working there for a lengthy period of time (including her sister).

Besides the constant snobbish behaviour from the shop keepers, etc, we have had particularly angry ladies who dont like us aussies (yanks, poms, croats and canadians occasionally also) kicking the footy in front of their house, in their street or anywhere else that might be in their vicinity. These crazy ladies try to steel your ball, call the police and yell abuse at all concerned.

Another time when the locals arent too happy with you is when you crash your little rent-a-boat into their new fishing boat. However, it appears to be the best and quickest way to recieve loads of verbal and physical abuse from any short stocky croatian men. (Please note: we actually had two boat accidents, but I wont be putting those stories on here quite yet). There are many other instances but for now that will do.

Btw, for those who arent aware of it yet, there is a reasonable chance that I have broken my foot (heel) from a jump/fall that occured last saturday. The details of how/why it happened will be revealed in the future (a long time from now), lol.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb