Sarajevo and Mostar


Advertisement
Bosnia and Herzegovina's flag
Europe » Bosnia & Herzegovina » East » Sarajevo » Ilidža
June 12th 2011
Published: July 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I met my new chums on the bus to Sarajevo, 3 kiwis (not the bird) they were nearing the end of a fab overland trip from New Zealand to Beijing and from there travelling overland all the way to Portugal, a trip which would take them 6 months! As it happened we were staying in the same hostel and were kindly picked up by the owner to drive us there.

I really liked Sarajevo, quite compact and was a blend of east and West, many of the ladies were wearing burkas but hardly any men were in muslim garb, make of that what you will!

It was an interesting comparison between the people of Sarajevo and Belgrade, hardly anybody mentioned the war in Belgrade (apart from the demonstration of course) but everybody talked about it in Sarajevo. Additionally there were reminders everywhere as the majority of buildings were pockmarked by bullet holes or shell explosions.

I visited the spot at which the Prince Archduke Ferdinand and his wife were shot which kicked off WW1, there is a museum there but I never went in as I couldn’t see how much more you could say about it.

My companion on the train advised me to go to “Egypt” which was the best cake shop in the city. I’m not much of a cake fan (unless people are giving them away at work:-) so I took a few pics of the cakes instead.

Later in the evening I headed out with my new Kiwi chums and some other travellers from the hostel plus the hostel owner and his son to the local brewery which had its own bar. This was conveniently located just round the corner from the hostel. The beer was delicious and this was partly due to the purity of the water they use, it is pumped from an underground lake.

The next day I caught the bus to Mostar for a wander round before continuing on to Dubrovnik. Mostar was famous for its old bridge (originally built in 1566) which isn’t old anymore as it was blown up during the Balkan war. It has now been rebuilt (2003) and is quite a big tourist attraction. There isn’t much else to see in Mostar though so I wouldn’t recommend staying the night.

From Mostar I caught the bus to Dubrovnik.

Boring Bits
Stayed at the SA hostel, really helpful owner and son, nice place to stay.




Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Not just any old houseNot just any old house
Not just any old house

This house was relocated from one side of the river to the other as the owner didn't want a new house


5th July 2011

Brings back memories of my trip to Belgrade and Sarajevo. Sarajevo, like you mentioned, is a great mixture of East meets West and is in fact one of my favourite places visited. P.S, I've recommended you (whatever that means) by pressing a button I found near your name. Keep up the happy travelling!

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 16; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0574s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb