Falling Down the Mountain


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria
January 21st 2006
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

"Joe, I have danced for 13 years, done a bit of surfing and picked up skiing easy, so I am sure I won't have a problem snowboarding." Ummm...wrong as I lay on the snow the first day saying "I thought this was supposed to be fun," second day "I don't think this is my sport," third day "I am trying so hard because I know how much you like snowboarding," fourth day "I just can't do it," fifth day "Erin go home you're wrecked and sixth day "I didn't fall off the lift and I am starting to feel it, when can I go again."

Granted I fell about 1,000 times, ended with about 30 bruises and my muscles are still sore but it was a great time. Joe and I travelled to Soll, Austria, which is in a valley of the Wilder Kaiser mountain range covering 250 Km of pistes. The entire week the sun was shinning, the village roads covered in ice and snow and the pubs packed with skiers and boarders.

The first day of my snowboard school, I had met some great people and of course they were all Irish! At least I found someone, Siobhan, who was at my same pace rather than Joe going down the other side of the mountain and boarding down slopes where you can't see the bottom. Siobhan and I would have our 2 hour school in the morning and then a break with a glass of wine and then attempt to go down the bunny slope without killing ourselves. During the week we celebrated Joe's birthday, jumped up and down on the dance floor until 3 a.m., added several layers to the empty jagermiester bottle tower, bathed in outdoor pool and sauna, joined in several karaoke sessions and fell down the mountain...



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



21st January 2006

Don't Hold Back!
Erin, we're glad to see that going to school isn't keeping you from getting a real education. Have fun - be careful. Miss you!
24th January 2006

Bonza!
Hello Rin, Happy New Year! Wow, what great pictures. Im very jealous. Skiing has to be my favourite sport after long distance elbow shuffling. You looked like you had a great time. I think you've helped resolve my mind that my next holiday will be skiing. Not for a while though. I'm moving to London in a month. You have to send me your mobile number again as I lost my phone. It's replaced and I have the same number. I can't have you disppearing from the UK without me visiting once. Take care. x

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb