No more long runs


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
October 14th 2009
Published: October 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

City hallCity hallCity hall

The great city hall building in the background.
I knew the weather was supposed to be bad today. Reports were calling for chilly weather with rain the next several days. So it looked like I would have to do my last long training run in bad weather no matter what. When I woke up and it wasn’t raining, I figured this would be as good a day as any.

After fueling up at breakfast and checking the weather (freezing temperature and 20-30 mph winds), I set out in shorts and a thermal shirt to try to fend off some of the cold. I was dreading the weather but was a bit excited to break in my new running shoes that I bought in Poland.

I ran down the street that the hostel is on for a couple miles and reached the Ring Road, the street that surrounds the former imperial part of town. After looping around it and making my way through the northeast part of the city, about 6.5 miles in, I finally reached the Danube Island, an island that is 21km in length that sits in the middle of the Danube River.

All along the way I had felt wind in my face but that was nothing compared to this. Heading north along the river, the winds blew at me constantly for the next six miles. At one point they grew so strong that they stopped me right in my tracks. It took every ounce of effort just to move forward. I was not pleased.

I was hoping to make it to mile 14 heading northbound so that when I turned around, I would get back to the bridge at my 22 mile goal. I made it to mile 12 and the island appeared to end. After a brief stop, I turned around and exhaustedly made my way back.

The winds that once were in my face were now at my back. At least they were supposed to be. The winds were there at times but they clearly didn’t make up for the agony they caused in the other direction.

Along the way back, I had to walk several times. My knees were shot. I was physically as well as mentally exhausted. And dehydration was starting to set in.

When I finally made it back to the bridge where I had originally crossed to the city, I found some water fountains. What a relief. As cold as it was I had still lost quite a bit of fluid.

I ran and walked back across the bridge and a few blocks back into the city. At the 19.5 mile mark I threw in the towel. This was nuts. I could hardly move, was freezing cold and my right knee was aching terribly. I caught the subway the rest of the way back.

I have no idea how the extra effort from the wind translates into distance but it has to count for something. That’s at least how I rationalized it in my exhausted state. And I think it was actually a wise thought. We’ll see come November 1.

The optimist in me at least has to be thankful that it wasn’t raining on top of everything else. The report did not hold true on the rain as there were only a few drops and some mist at times. I’m also VERY happy that I’ve now finished long training runs for years (or maybe forever). The next marathon I do, if ever, will be when I’m turning 40 or 50 and it’s part of my midlife crisis action plan.

After a nice hot shower, in which I probably ticked off a lot of water conservationists while I thawed out, I got changed and relaxed in the common area while I waited for my laundry to be finished. There I distracted Dave, Seidman and Gus with emails throughout the afternoon. Rest assured that the students of Hershey High School are receiving a proper education as I distract one of their finest teachers.

Tonight I met some of my roommates and we headed down to the bar in the basement for a few drinks. One girl was from NYC and one guy was from Northeast Germany (an American expat). We met a few others downstairs - one Aussie girl, one Japanese girl and two German guys. After two wheat beers I was very mellow. The dehydration must have still been in effect because I was borderline tipsy. The least the beers could have done is numbed the pain in my right knee.

I headed up to bed early to get some much needed sleep.

Tomorrow I have to figure out why exactly I came to Vienna.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.1547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb