Mexico week 4


Advertisement
Central America Caribbean
February 13th 2010
Published: February 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello all

Well its been another eventful week here in Mexico!

Started out on Sat with a meal, which was really nice and finished off in a Cuban Cafe which was a nice way to end the evening. I spoke to most of you on sunday which was a great chance to just chill in Tulum, writing some of my BTEC work in a cafe, under the mexican sun.

Monday was a great day as the sea was as smooth as glass. It was the perfect conditions for diving. I went out on the first dive of the day (a deep dive) and I could see so far. It was like swiming in liquid crystal (if that makes any sense). The deep dives are fun as you get to see some very cool stuff, inculding a 1.2m long Lobster, which was awesome. Also when you go that deep you are suceptable (not spelt right) so something called Nitrogen Narcosis. Its doesnt have any bad effects on you except you become light headed and similar feelings to if you were on narcartics. Everything becomes awesome when your down there. I was starting at this one coral for 3 minutes because I thought it was the best thing in the world!!

Tuesday was the same, perfect Vis, but no deep dive. I was completling my Advanced open water certificate and we had to take it in turns to do the Nav dive, so whilst I waited, we were playing Hangman under water, aswel as Fin Dueling and Fin Guitaring! You get quite creative when your under water lol.

Weds started great as we were diving again, but the sea (AGAIN!) picked up and we had to cancel the diving for the rest of the day. Thurs was very interesting day. Diving got cancelled again after the first dive, but we were half way through our lionfish lecture when we heard a scream from the front. We ran out and one of our cars had crashed into the tree and caught a member of staff! The other staff that were in the car were either bleeding or passed out. So we all jumped in to action with our First Aid training, I ran to call 662 (999 for mexico) and we managed to save all the staff. Unfortunalty at the begining, alot of the staff in the cars were giggling and it kind of gave away the face that it was a "Drill". But it was a fun little excercise to test our training. In the afternoon I got picked to go to Punta Allen to help teach the children there English. I have taken some photos but it was realy fun and all of the kids were very sweet.

Also this week we started our BTEC work, so I have been working hard on a presentation for that aswell as a Species list. Also we have had a Valentines week where we got a "Special Friend" that we had to make 3 gifts for. I got Stu, one of the members of staff and I made him a model of our boat Ka´ay, which I am quite proud of. Also I have sent out some postcarcds, including for sent to you sam for Kids Club. The only problem is that apperently Mexico Post is virtually non-exsistant so chances are I will beat them home.....if they get there at all lol.

I think I told mum this, but I am one of two writers of the Pez Maya Blog, which can be found here: http://gvimexico.blogspot.com/

So if for some reason I cant send out my weekly email, you can see a round about idea of what Im doing this week.

Also have skype....but it doesnt work too well.

Hope everyone is ok

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb