The Girls Ride the Wave . . .


Advertisement
Published: May 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today Mel, Jess and I were in Grand Turk. Once again, our original plans were messed up due to some disorganization elsewhere on the ship, but we still made the most of it.

A few weeks back, I’d done the Flow Rider (surf machine) in Grand Turk for a tour with my teens. I’d told Mel and Jess how much fun it was, so they decided it was something they wanted to try. I got a pool-side chair next to the Flow Rider so I had a front-row view of the action. Which also meant I got lots of good photos - and videos! - of the girls in action.

And they were really good! Both of them managed to pull off quite a few of the “tricks” that the instructors get you to attempt doing. One little boy who was in the pool beside me watching the Flow Rider told his mom when Jess took a turn “this girl is really good” and then when Mel went next that “this girl is real good too!”.

Between their turns, when the other guests were going, I just relaxed on my pool chair and read more of my book. It was lovely, but that one hour of sunshine was enough for me. You’d think living down here, I’d be used to the sun by now, but I’ve spent so little time out in it that my skin isn’t quite handling it well right now.

There’s a nice café in the cruise centre with good internet, so I’d brought out my laptop so we could each take a quick turn with our emails. Then we returned to the ship for lunch. We figured why buy in port when we had the buffet on the ship?

We planned to go back out after lunch, but I ended up begging the girls to let me sleep instead! I LOVE having them here, but I am so tired. If I’m not working, I’m hosting, and it’s wearing me out! So I had a much-needed nap while the girls did some quick shopping back ashore.

We’ve been having lots of fun on the ship too and tonight we’ve got a big night planned. It’s deck party - which I will work during, and the girls will party - and then there’s a crew party after that. Should be a fun night!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.1s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb