Half Moon Cay with Mel & Jess . . .


Advertisement
Published: May 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Mel and Jess are here cruising with me and today we had a fantastic beach day! Today’s port of call was Half Moon Cay, a private island owned by one of our sister lines. Though we come here every two weeks, I’ve only gotten off on the island once! It’s a tender port and of course, guests come first, so us crew members have to go back 3 hours before sail time. When I don’t finish work until at least 1am the night before, it’s difficult to drag myself out of bed early enough to make the day worth going out and coming back by 1pm - and then still have the energy to work the rest of the day and night. But rules like that get loosened when you have family cruising - thankfully! - so I got to enjoy a full day with the girls.

We’d originally planned to do an excursion on the island, but that fell through, so we were on our own.

Right off the tender boats, Half Moon Cay has a beautiful beach. We picked a spot right near the stage, so we could listen to the calypso band play. We spent awhile on our beach chairs, just relaxing in the sun. I used to do this all the time on my first contract, but I so rarely spend any time at the beach anymore. I’m reading a great book right now, and I was delighted to just lie and read.

But the sun was HOT today. So we couldn’t spend much time just lying there, before going in the water was necessary. We spent a lot of time just wading in the water, talking, laughing, taking pictures. The water is spectacularly clear here. The odd fish swims by now and then - they’re so pretty! I’m excited to take the girls snorkeling later in their trip.

So it was just an easy day of beautiful sun, sand and water, with a few frozen drinks tossed in the mix. Then it was back to the ship - for the girls this means lying out on the ship’s deck, but I had work. One day, I’ll be back on vacation again too!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Mel & JessMel & Jess
Mel & Jess

"Look, we're on a cruise!"
Fishie.Fishie.
Fishie.

Trying to get this guy in a picture was a comedy of errors.


Tot: 0.297s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 25; qc: 137; dbt: 0.1653s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb