The Cat to Tobago


Advertisement
Published: March 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Blogger Dougo

Today was quite a stressful day for me. After getting up at around 11 to pack I went to find an ATM to withdraw money to pay for our stay at The Gingerbread House. We needed to be at the ferry docks at 12:30pm to be sure of our booking. Well after trying three different banks I withdrew the money and sprinted in the 35 degree heat back to the guest house. Dripping with sweet we paid and then waited 4o minutes for a taxi to arrive to take us to the ferry.

Upon arriving at the ferry, we had to pass through security. You know, the emptying of the pockets and the taking off the hat and so forth. I had the keys to the guesthouse in my pocket didn't I!!!! Whilst we were coming back to the Gingerbread House on the 8th April, I though they might need to have their keys between now and then. Pay phones all broken. Taxi guy gone. Ended up sprinting to a near buy hotel and phoning them and leaving them at the front desk. For the second time today, I was sprinting in the bloody heat trying to get somewhere on time.

I made it.

We boarded the T&T Express, a catamaran made by INCAT in Tasmania, unceremoniously dumping our bags on pallets to the side of the car parking bay. Climbing up stairs we found a seat on the expansive deck and tried to relax. Freaking out about the keys, I went and borrowed someone's mobile phone to try and get the guest house hosts to pick the keys up immediately. I offered to pay for any change of the locks if that was necessary.

The trip over to Tobago was fine. I don't know why but I have been a tad sensitive to the sea swell recently. Perhaps it was the hot and crowded trips between St Kitts and Nevis. Anyway, I lay down on the floor and tried to have a kip when the swell picked up a bit.

Tobago is known as the lazy brother of Trinidad. We disembarked at Scarborough, the capital and set about trying to get a taxi to our hotel, Bananaquit Apartments. The taxis are not marked. Only a H on the number plate indicates that it is for 'hire' and everyone just pushes to get to em. eventually Becca got hold of one and we were whisked away to Crown Point on the South West Coast of the island to our apartment.

What a day!

Advertisement



31st March 2007

you willbe fit1
hey douggie, with all this running around in the heat I am looking forward to seeing a FIT man standing at the altar in July! enjoying the travels through your eyes, karen
1st April 2007

INCAT
Just found out the other day that Lynn Bradley's eldest son Jim works at INCAT now! Howzat for a coincidence?

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb