Panamá City- buildings are big!


Advertisement
Published: March 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Panamá City skyline at sunrisePanamá City skyline at sunrisePanamá City skyline at sunrise

And this is only half of it! It is amazing how big this city was- rivaling the skyline of New York in my opinion. Maybe it was just being in awe of such a big place after all the tiny towns I had been in
And all of a sudden we hit buildings... after months of flat cities and small pueblos- Panamá city is like the City of OZ popping up out of nowhere! So modern and happening with tons of traffic and a sultry nightlife scene- it really is a city that doesn´t sleep.

Had heard that the hospitals in Panamá City are very modern and many of the doctors have trained in the states, so my chances of finding a bilingual doctor were high. This sounded great after several confusing experiences with the Nicaraguan doctors who spoke very, very quickly using fancy medical terms that even when they would repeat the plan, I felt somewhat confused. So, went right to the hospital after the arrival to Panamá City and was seen by an orthopedic surgeon. He spoke some English, at least enough to make me positive that my ankle was healing beautifully and that he could take off my dingy, duct taped cast and give me a new walking cast. HOORAY!!!! The prognosis was 2 more weeks in the cast and then I could be done with it.

I can shower!

And I will be able to walk the same
Cutie little planeCutie little planeCutie little plane

Getting off plane from Bocas to Panamá City- still on crutches with my fiberglass cast- but not for long! Heading straight for Panamanian hospital.
week that I am scheduled to fly home! What luck is that?

But, I can shower!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Hospital in Panamá CityHospital in Panamá City
Hospital in Panamá City

With the orthopedic surgeon and my new walking air cast! I was beaming with happiness to finally have that cast off!
Typical folk dancingTypical folk dancing
Typical folk dancing

Not the best photo, but it was a really cool show- thanks Jen for organizing that for us
Panamá CanalPanamá Canal
Panamá Canal

HUGE ships. I mean HUGE. Seriously amazing.
Panamá Canal 2Panamá Canal 2
Panamá Canal 2

Just mesmorizing watching them go through the canal.
Panamá City at nightPanamá City at night
Panamá City at night

View from inside Jen´s friend´s condo where we stayed. Really quite a modern city. There was even a nice fireworks show in honor of our last night.


Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.044s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb