Buenos Aires- my favorite city


Advertisement
Published: April 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Vicky at Henri´sVicky at Henri´sVicky at Henri´s

Our favorite breakfast spot in Palermo. Every day, same order: dos cafes dobles.
I made it! I made it, I made it, I made it!

All the way down to Buenos Aires. Arriving to Argentina was exhilerating and such an accomplishment after all I have been through with this silly broken ankle. I felt a strange sadness to leave Central America and the safety and connections that I felt there. So odd to say that I actually missed the *safety* of Central America, isn´t it?

BUT, if I thought Panamá City was a big city, I really wasn´t prepared to conquer just how HUGE Buenos Aires is. When you pass over it in the plane, it just keeps on going and going and going... A little overwhelming- all the people, the endless supply of restaurants, cafes, and shopping. It has a feel like Paris, just like everyone says. The smells of coffee and beef linger in the humid air along with the Florida size mosquitoes which are everywhere. How silly of me to have left my DEET back in Panamá.

Rented an apartment in Palermo with Vicky for the first week in Buenos Aires. She arrived from San Francisco the day after I got to Buenos Aires and we started
Big intersectionBig intersectionBig intersection

Palermo, near parks
our 2 weeks of fun. It was great to reconnect with her, but I must admit after traveling solo for so many months, it was a bit of an adjustment- not being in a hostel and depending on meeting strangers everyday. But we soon fell into our groove and had a great time exploring Buenos Aires.

Every night there was a new restaurant to try out, but even with many months here, I feel that I could never begin to make a dent in knowing them all. The food rivals the quality of food in San Francisco, but at 1/3 the cost.

The amount of clothing stores here is unbelievable. Really. Who is buying up all this stuff? It is well known that the people living in Buenos Aires (porteños) are some of the most fashionable people in the world. Both the men and the women. From their hip clothes to their amazingly stylish haircuts (mostly some type of mullets), you wonder how they have time to do anything else besides concentrate their efforts on keeping up with their looks. Perhaps a generalization, but it is quite a thing to see a busy day on the streets of
1880 Borges1880 Borges1880 Borges

Our apartment for 9 days
Palermo or Recoleta.

A few of the highlights from the first week: the David LaChapelle exhibit at the museum of modern art (MALBA) was excellent. http://www.davidlachapelle.com/home.html

Tango show at Cafe Tortoni- I had never seen a tango performance, but I have no idea why. This is a beautiful, emotional dance.

And just so many great dinners and late nights. With the normal dinner time being around 11pm, we would find ourselves sometimes eating as late as 1am. One night, heading back to the apartment in a cab at 4:30am, we were stuck in a traffic jam near one of the big squares here in Palermo... A traffic jam at 4:30am because too many pedestrians and people are out still partying it up at the outdoor cafes.

A completely different culture here, for sure. But I love it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

View from apartmentView from apartment
View from apartment

Looking toward rest of Palermo
Tango showTango show
Tango show

Not the best photo, but these guys were great dancers... move so fast, and incredibly sexy. Those Argentines!
Vicky at parkVicky at park
Vicky at park

Right before a very very large bird or perhaps a teradactyl shit on us. Seriously... do I carry this bad luck everywhere I go?
Lisa & Vicky Lisa & Vicky
Lisa & Vicky

At restaurant called Farmacia
Johan & LisaJohan & Lisa
Johan & Lisa

New Swedish friend
How gumby feelsHow gumby feels
How gumby feels

after a late night out in Buenos Aires
Dulce de lecheDulce de leche
Dulce de leche

Vicky with the yummy yummy medialunas and pastries from the local pastry shop. To die for!
Finca La LindaFinca La Linda
Finca La Linda

our favorite wines here
Easter!Easter!
Easter!

Semana Santa week is a big party here in Latin America and everyone was out celebrating the beautiful weather


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb