Back in Granada


Advertisement
Published: April 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Isla OmetepeIsla OmetepeIsla Ometepe

The closer and larger volcanoe is Concepcion. The farther is Mareda.
Once again I'm in Granada soaking up the comforts of the city. I'm staying at the plush Hostal Oasis. I came in last night from Laguna De Apoyo, a beautiful crater lake about thirty minutes outside Granada. I spent three nights there at the Monkey Hut, which is right on lake. They have kayaks and tubes to float around on, so that pretty much sums up what I did while was there. Before going to Apoyo, I was on Isla Ometepe, in Lago De Nicaragua. I originaly planned to climb up both volcanoes, but I only made it up the smaller one. I spent the first night on Ometepe in Moyogalpa, The islands largest town. It was good friday. There was a Procession going around on the streets featuring a brutalized wooden Jesus and a band playing death songs. It was a bit tricky to travel during the peak of Semana Santos, but it wasn't as difficult as some would say. It was worth moving on aswell. Granada gets fairly boring fairly quickly. I spent a total of six nights on Ometepe in various places. Merida, one of the places I stayed, once belonged to Samoza, an ousted dictator. It was one of his many compounds. Now it´s owned by the government. But they lease it long term to the guy who runs the hotel, who is rumered to have family ties to the Samozas. Today I´m making half of the journey to the Corn Islands, off the carribean coast. All in all it takes eight hours of bus and eight hours of boat to get there. I´m doing the bus leg today, and the boat tommorrow. Most travelers dont end up going out there because how much of a pain in the ass it is to get there, but I´m dead set on giving it a shot. Plus I´ve decided not to go to the bay islands in Honduras. So this will suit my urges to hang around on beautiful Carribean islands. From what I hear - the Bay Islands are pretty boring for those who dont scuba-dive. Until next time... No time for photos - bad connection. I´ll ad them next time I post.














Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb