Been a while


Advertisement
Published: January 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

ToñaToñaToña

My hammock is down there somewhere.

Well all its been a while. As my travels continue my blogs become more and more sparse. We all know this was bound to be the case.

The last we spoke I believe I was in Honduras and had decided I needed some beach time. So I caught about 5 buses, spent a night in Tegucigalpa, crossed over to Nicaragua, rocked up to the airport in Managua and caught the next flight to the Corn Islands.

What a beautiful piece of unexploited carribean. The islands off the pacific coast of Nicaragua are definatly a little chunk o heaven. I say to you all go while you can because it won´t be the same in ten years. Theres one nice sorta resort hotel on the Big Corn. Ironically called Casa Canada and owned by a bunch of redneck farmers from Saskatchewan. It goes for $80 a night but you can still get a nice place for $15-30. Little Corn.... not so much. For those of you that need the comforts of home stay on Big Corn. I could have spent a very long time on Little though. A wonderful breeze on the east side kept the
Little CornLittle CornLittle Corn

Me and my coconut leaf hat.
mosquitos away while I spent my nights sleeping in a hammock. Waking up swinging between two coconut trees over white sand on the beach 5 feet from crystal blue water. Very niiiiice. The locals are great, very friendly and how can you not like lobster dinner for $6. The only bad thing I can say about the place is getting there. It may not be a problem for all of you but this was my first time in a 12 seater Cesna. I wasn´t worried about crashing but gliding sideways and dropping 50 feet and shakeing all over the place makes for a very uncomfortable flight. I was hammered for the flight over and it was no problem but took the sober early morning flight back and as calm as I am there were a few moments were I was seriously fighting off full on panic. Other than that the islands rock!

Would maybe still be there but the whole reason for my trip to Central America had arrived. Russ and Amy´s wedding. Being the best man I figured I should show up. So I made my way to Costa Rica for the wedding. Got from the islands
My hammockMy hammockMy hammock

I´ve woken up in worse places.
to Playa Hermosa on the pacific coast of CR in a day which was so sweet. What I saw of CR was beautiful and the whole wedding week was a blast but I won´t go into details because it was basically just a week long party. I´m sure you can all imagine for yourselves.

So, I´m in Granada now in Nicaragua. Its a beautiful colonial town and I´m pretty much just chillin and detoxing a little after last weeks festivities. Good to be back somewhere cheap since CR is like Canada prices. Although with that you have the poverty which is heartbreaking at times. As with Guatemala and Honduras most of the people here have little to nothing and are yet so friendly. They like to chat with the gringos which I try to do with my brutal spanish. Most don´t ask for anything but if I have food on me I share with the kids. Its funny though, for the most part the people seem happy with nothing and we who have everything complain all the time. Deep thoughts.

Thats it for now. On my way to an island in Lake Nicaragua tomorrow called Ometepe. I´ll try not to let things go so long till the next blog.

Hasta luego amigos.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0736s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb