Nicaragua


Advertisement
Published: February 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Greetings all,

I'm in a town called Leon right now in Nicaragua. Nice place. Lots of universities here so the young population makes for a very vibrant atmosphere. Last I wrote I was on my way to Ometepe island on Lake Nicaragua. Ometepe is a fairly big island formed by two volcanoes. One dormant and one active. Its a beautiful place. I ws only there 5 days but one could easliy spend a couple of weeks. Lots of great hiking, kayaking and wildlife to take in. Plus some nice little beaches. I hiked the dormant volcano to the lake in its crater. Its a 10km hike return. Which isn't too bad but the trail pretty much goes straight up the thing. So very steep and the last two kms are spent ankle deep in mud slipping and sliding all over the place. It was cool to get to the top and hike into the crater. Coming down was even harder than going up. You're basically just brown by the time you get down. Could'nt hike the active one at the time I was there because it was unstable. Oh well, I was pretty finished after the first volcano.
Ometepe port and ConceptionOmetepe port and ConceptionOmetepe port and Conception

Thats the larger and active volcano on Ometepe.


Spent a few nights staying at a coffee plantation there which was cool. You can see have the production goes and even lend a hand if you want to. This particular place was organic sells beans to some places on the coast of BC. Groovy place, rooms for $4/27:- a night and amazing coffee for 30cents/1.5:- a cup. Add some decent hammock time to that and you could get stuck there for a while.

Alas time is becoming an issue as it inevitably does and I had to leave and here I am in Leon. Its close to the coast so I spent a day out at the beach swimming and drinking $2/15:- pina coladas. Had a big night out with a bunch of people from the hostel that night and woke up the next morning with a wicked case of food poisning 😞 Couldn't even keep water down. Guess I've been pretty lucky so far though. Thats the first time I've gotten really sick this trip. Better today breakfast stayed down and I can drink water again to re-hydrate.

So thats me for now. Heading back to Guatemala on Tuesday. Still some things
ConceptionConceptionConception

View of the volcano my hostel.
I want to see there like Tikal (mayan ruins) the trip is over. Just over two weeks left. Time flies.

Love
D


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb