Fiesta in Leon


Advertisement
Published: August 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, Nicaragua has been a lot of fun . Quite strange being in a place where my sister, mum and dad have all been...although things here have changed a great deal im sure! The town seems quite prosperous and there are such lovely museums, markets and great stuff to do, not to mention fantastic nightlife! Bands, bars, clubs to suit all and with Mojitos at 25 Cordovas (just over a dollar) you have to join in.
I climbed a volcano today then slid down on a wooden board with a ski rope attached.Hmmm! I spent a winter season trying to snowboard and now here I am on a wooden go-kart, sans wheels, sliding down volcanic ash.Well actually, it goes a little more like this.
´´Who wants to go first?´´
Me
ók so matey, you push her
Off we go....go...go!
Hmm a little too fast me thinks...speed wobble kicks in and the recommended method of stearing by hovering the opposite foot above the ground didnt seem to help...ok, tumble number 1...ouch.
So I try again. Right keep the feet on the board...picking up speed, go the stearing method again? Argh! loose stones fly up through my goggles and bits of grit gets in my mouth...speed wobbles kick in again and in goes the edge...tumble number 2. By now my hands are a little grazed and my rather attractive orange boiler suit is full of little rocks.
Why cant i stand up? There is no way this narrow strip of wood is going to carve through volcanic rock. although im sure flatlining this baby would be easier on feet!
3rd time lucky and i decide to balance the feet on the outside, yeeha...ive got it! so made it down in one piece. I then proceeded to watch as 90% of the others made their way down taking varying degrees of stacks...some looking like they were attempting olympic gymnastic manoevres! Nice and nice amounts of blood too.
Again the health and safety police were no-where to be seen!
What a laugh!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb