Onward to Nicaragua


Advertisement
Published: April 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I arrived at the border Los Manos border crossing at about 11 AM. It was a little later than I intended but I wasnt concerned because I didnt have far to travel. I was promply besiged by a large group of kids offering help to guide me across the border so I picked out one of them and resigned myself to the circus that would surely follow. It was bad but maybe not so bad as I expected. There was the money changing business, a $3 fee to leave Honduras (which seemed pretty bogus) plus a car permit fee and obligatory insurance to buy for Nicaragua (which seemed pretty reasonable) plus tips for the guides (one for Honduras and one for Nicaragua as per their custom) that all added up to a small sum of money and a large sum of hassle. After this business was done I drove on to Esteli where I found a nice hotel with a parqueo on the edge of town. I enjoyed a nice hike around the town to find money and something to eat. It was as good a place as any to adjust to a new country with different money and other new surrounds.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0693s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb