Good Friday in Danli


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Central » Danlí
April 22nd 2011
Published: April 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I decided that I could wait no longer to continue my travels so I decided to move on. I was fairly warned that travel might be difficult due to the Easter holiday but I was confident that I was prepared to improvise if necessary. I should not have worried. The Wendys in Siguatepeque was open so I ate a quick lunch there and pressed on toward the capital. I got stopped at a police checkpoint at the top of a mountain pass where I had to take my first-ever breathalyzer test. I scored cero punto cero which by sheer coincidence is exactly equal to Blutarskys GPA in another time, place, circumstance, and language. I dreaded driving through the capital but it turned out to be not so bad. I got gas there and faithfully followed the signs that directed me toward Danli. The road from Tegucigalpa to Danli wasnt great but neither did it suck and I made pretty good time. I promptly found an acceptable hotel with vacancy and a secure parqueo so that all was well and good before the sun set. I was right where I needed to be to cross the border in the morning.

Sometimes you get lucky. I blundered into Danli´s Good Friday procession by accident when I was strolling around the town. It´s surely not the largest or most famous of Latin America´s easter celebrations but it was a pretty cool thing to see. It was a parade of sorts with large floats that were carried like giant coffins by dozens of bearers. Elaborate effigies of Jesus Christ surrounded by angels were lit up by electic lights that were powered by generators mounted on the backs up pickup trucks tethered to the floats. A dozen or so kids carefully carried each extension cord with just the right amount of slack to ensure that it did not drag on the ground. Coolness!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb