Days 25-27, Lago de Yojoa


Advertisement
Published: October 10th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Tourism from outside Honduras to Lake Yojoa almost exclusively revolves around D&D Brewery (Hostel, Hotel and Tour company). It's super lovely with beers brewed on site, a fire pit to sit around in the evening and probably the friendliest tour guide in the world.

When we arrived from Copan, via the biggest bus station I've ever seen in San Pedro Sula, the bus knew exactly where to drop us off - very handy! We spent the afternoon playing cornhole (a bean bag toss game) and trying a couple of the brews.

The hostel is surrounded by trees and there are lots of hummingbird feeders - I was very entertained watching them fly around, but don't think I will ever manage to photo one!

The next morning we went down the canal by rowing boat, looking at the birds (including a toucan and some turkey vultures) and out onto the lake. Some of the guys and Sam and Jess did some cliff diving into the lake while I did an excellent job photographing and filming (hahaha. Jumping from height into a water - not really for me!). I also did an excellent job at burning on a cloudy morning - I have recently been lulled into a false sense of security at the robustness of my skin. Oh well!

Later in the afternoon, after a bit of rain, Sam, Stefan and I visited the Eco-Archeological Park in Los Naranjos, and invented our own explanations for the ruins. On the way back it was getting dark and we were surrounded by fireflies - very pretty!

The next day, Sam, Stefan, Zach and I went to Parque Nacional Cerro Azul Meamber - we were very reliant on the guys Spanish to negotiate the journey, and spent the day hiking round the park, which had incredible views and waterfalls - I swam in one yay. In the park there are mountain lions and jaguars, but we all survived!

On the way back the tuktuk driver showed me some pineapple plantations. Pineapple plants are super weird haha! I still want to see a fully grown pineapple plant, but I am a step closer!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb