Honduras past few weeks


Advertisement
Published: February 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Jan 14... Feb 5
Let's see I didn't realize how long it has been since I have updated. I'll try and make it short and sweet but well see haha.
So I arrived at copan took a taxi to the school where I met the 2 women who own the school. They showed me to my homestay, which is kind of a hostel. The first 2 days I slept in the dorm room because there were people staying in he private room. I spent the weekend walking around town trying to get oriented and did some window souvenir shopping. My first week of class was decent. I took 4 hours in the am and 3 hours in the pm for the first 3 days but a school group came so they didn't have any teachers for me in the afternoons. I didn't really like my first teacher, she was a bit older and seemed quite impatient. So I asked for a new teacher the next week. That Friday the school group went to the hot springs near by so I went along. They were quite as hot as others but the pools were very nice and the scenery was beautiful.
The next week I had class in the am at the other school in town and class in the pm at my school. I really wanted to work on my conversation because I don't really have the balls to go to the town center and strike up a conversation with some one and because I don't drink cant really sit at a bar and start up a convo. Anyway classes were pretty good, tiring but good. I realized I had missed alot of rules and things so it was a bit upsetting but good to know I suppose. I liked both of my teachers this week the were both younger and more relaxed. I really liked my teacher at the ixalbanqu (my first school) school but she was getting a real reaching job and wasn't able to teach me next week.
On Friday kinzze a girl I had met in la cieba came to town to spend her last week hanging out and doing some real traveling. She is a newbie to the traveling world so I had to met her at the bus stop and play tour guide for her all week. It was fun though we got on really well. When she arrived we walked about town and had some luquidados aka fruit smoothies and talked about our lives. Saturday we went on a hike with Geraldo from the via via cafe with a few of the other adult students in school. It was a decent hike and Geraldo is a very interesting guy,more of a philosopher as many world travelers are. He is from Belgium and was a traveling writer and had some interesting thoughts about traveling, Honduras and the world. I don't know if I agree with everything he says but it was good food for thought especially for Kinzee since this was he first time seeing real poverty/3 world life. That afternoon we went to have a late lazy lunch at some cute spot in town. We played cards almost every night and/or watched movies. Helma my homestay moms brother has a projector and we watched 2 movies back to back one night until we crashed around 1. Haha let's see Sunday we went horseback riding up In the mountains, it had some spectacular views and we walked trough some tiny town pintura on the top of a mountain/hill. That afternoon we went up to macaw mt. a bird park. It was more interesting and cool than we thought. It had mostly macaws but alot of different kinds and colors. It was tucked a few kms away from town with a stream running through it.
Monday after class we went to the copan myan ruins. We spent a few hours aimlessly wondering through them. They were very pretty and impressive.
Tuesday afternoon we decided to go on the canopy zipline tour, which was really fun. It was just the 2 of us and our guides. The lines were really fast and quite long. I think there are 16 lines. After that we went back to the bird park to have some coffee and hang out. We spent many afternoons in coffee shops passing time.
Wednesday I wanted to go to bring her to the hot springs but she wasn't really feeling it. So we went to a coffee shop and spent the avo just chilling eating nachos and playing cards, rough life huh. My homestay mom here is the complete opposite of ours in cieba this ones feeds us to death, actual meals and meats chicken protein and its delicious. Needless to say we both have gained our lost weight back and then some.
Thursday I switched my class for the afternoon so we could go out to breaky and I could get Kinzee on the bus. Well she has been so full that she didn't even eat. Haha. She packed up and I got her down to the bus station and said our goodbyes.
Friday I went with the school to see pottery and tortillas be made we even gave it a try out selves. It was quite amazing how the girl made a huge pot with out a throwing wheel and the effort to grind the corn down to make tortillas was amazing. That night I went out to dinner with the group because one of the guys was moving on we had a nice dinner together and just talked about traveling and life. It was pretty neat to have dinner with a group of people that had all been to many of the same places. After dinner I went by via via to talk with Geraldo to try and work with him for the next few weeks so I am forced to speak Spanish rather than taking 8 hours of class a day. He said he'd talk to his wife but maybe I could help out the activity tour booking girl since she doesnt speak any English. I have been back 4 times since the trying to find him but haven't. I spoke to his wife once and she said he didn't mention it yet but she would talk to him tonight. Hopefully I'll catch up with him tonight because I'm going to try and watch the Superbowl there. I think that was the past few weeks in a nut shell.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.364s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0751s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb