The worst part of travelling is the travel!


Advertisement
Published: December 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday we spent most of the day sitting and waiting as we travelled to Copan Ruinas from Antigua. And again it reminded me of how the worst part of travelling is the travel. Why does even a straightforward trip of a few hours end up taking all day? And why is the travel component so unpleasant?

Maybe it is just me? I tend to feel just a little bit queasy travelling by bus - just on the edge of motion sickness - and even luxury recliner seats do not seem to dissipate that completely. I also have a pathological hatred of being cooped up in any vehicle for too long - planes, trains, ships or automobiles. What is the psychological thing about not being able to get off -that really makes you want to get off? Is it like the sign alerting you to something you are not supposed to do, that makes you think maybe I should???

I know there are many people who do not feel the same way. We have friends who love to go for a long drive on the weekend or take the long way home to prolong the journey. But that makes me feel ill! Maybe it was too many childhood drives up and down the Pacific Highway that is too blame combined with memories of car sick tablets squished into a spoon of jam, to swallow down beforehand.

Being on this bus yesterday was weird. When we took our seats all the curtains on the bus were drawn, and except for ours, remained that way the entire journey - which ended up taking about 5 1/2 hrs, including the border crossing. Michael and I were seated in the first two seats and in front of us was the driver and assistant's cabin. Despite them being seated at a lower level to us, the curtains at the back of their cabin also remained closed for the trip - so the only way we could see any of the view was out our side window. It was like being in a cave that moved. Just awful! I would understand this behaviour by the other bus occupants if it was a night time bus, but we left at 9.30am!!

I know that the travel parts are necesary and help you appreciate the time you spend at your destination even more, but whoever said "it is not the destination, but the journey" has it all wrong in my book. I'm defintely a destination girl and if I could use that magic carpet for a quick arrival, I sure would!

While we were paddling around Lake Atitlan last week we stopped at a grassy bank at the base of a very stylish, modern home. There didn't seem to be anyone in residence and it was the perfect place to leave the kayaks for a few minutes to have a swim. Later when I asked who owned the very modern home with the lovely lawns down to the lake, I was told that it belonged to a very wealthy Guatemalan family and they landed their helicopter on the grass - thus negating the long drive to Panajachel entirely.

There are many things that the super rich do that confound me completely. But that would not be one of them!

Do you agree?

Sandy

Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb