Ruined


Advertisement
Published: November 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Left the island and amazingly made it all the way to Copan. It was another 12 hour boat and bus day bit at least it was only one. 

Two nights is all I stayed here but you could easily get sucked in. It's a very pretty town only 10k from the Guatemalan border and alot less touristy than most places I've been. I was surprised considering the Mayan ruins are the main attraction. 

Arrived around 7pm and found a hostel straight away and found out the national park is 1k from the town so no tours necessary just a stroll out of town and pay the entrance fee. Armed with all the necessary info I headed for food and a wander around the town. 

Next morning I headed to the ruins and they were just stunning. For the first hour and a half I had the entire place to myself and spent the morning reading my book all about them sitting on the grass in the sun just looking at them. Spent a couple of hours walking around before the tour groups started to arrive but it was still very peaceful. 

It's also set in a national park so loads of wildlife around and got a few cool pictures. The pics of the ruins speak for themselves really. The highlight was probably the ball court where they used to play a native Mayan ball game or the hieroglyphic staircase. This is now covered with a tarp to protect it from the sun but it is still amazing. It has also preserved some of the colour on the stones. This is not visible anywhere else as the sun has faded them. It must have been super impressive in it's time which was about 159ad. Still a mystery as to why it collapsed. Alot of theories but nothing certain. 

Really enjoyed my time here and glad I squeezed it in but it's onwards and back upwards for my final stop in Honduras next. Heading to Flores to visit Tikal 


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0606s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb