Copàn Ruinas, Revisisted :)


Advertisement
Published: August 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

I've arrived again to spend about two and a half weeks in my "querido Honduras". Arriving last week was both wonderful and strange. The only way I can think to describe it is stepping into another world. Maybe a bit like Narnia. I've been away for years and I mentally know of my life back in the states, but since the first moment of stepping off the plane in San Pedro, my world became Honduras and everything else is like a faint memory or dream.

In the past week I've helped out my Honduran family in their "comedor" in the market (a small eatery), spent a morning painting walls with cement (which I will most likely do more before I leave); we've been to two "cumpleaños" (one of which we walked about 45 minutes into a mountain village); I've also spent a day at the bilingual school I worked at in 2007-2008. My students are now in 7th grade! Wow! Yesterday I was also able to see a few of my friends here in town. And of course I'm taking every opportunity to eat baleadas! The people and food are for sure the best part ... with the gorgeous mountains and greenery coming in next. 😊

Sunday evening, during the church service, I gave a class to the 6 children that were there. We had lots of fun and I'm planning another lesson for this Sunday.

I have some photos to share, but I will probably need to wait until I get back to the states to post them. I'm hoping to use the internet once more before I leave, but otherwise I'll just write an entry or two when I get back!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.287s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1832s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb