Copan


Advertisement
Published: February 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

where I eat in Copanwhere I eat in Copanwhere I eat in Copan

my plate is clean....the food became really good after I got used to it. My favorite meal was refried beans, avacadoe, tortillas, eggs scrambled, cheese, and coffee.
01/24/06

The mornings here in Copan are an explosion in one’s ear. At about 4:30 am the roosters start cock a doodling out of tune and that goes on until nearly noon. The trucks start cruising by at 5 and make such a loud racket it sounds like you are in a war zone with gunfire and bombs going off. For an American who hasn’t experience these things it’s quite the cultural shock. The shower is either freezing cold or scalding hot. Breakfast was pretty standard; cereal, plantains, and coffee. The cats were a little more relaxed this morning. They let me alone to my breakfast. The parakeet sure was making a racket though. Reyna who is the house mom that fixes me food yelled at it but it did no good to shut it up. My Spanish lesson went well I think. We went over the alphabet and vocabulary. We also did some conjugation. After school I went home and ate lunch alone with the cats and the bird. Then I showed Reyna and Lucy some of my photos of my band and that I’ve took here in Honduras. They were very impressed and seemed as though they were looking into a distant universe which I suppose that they were. I think that all languages are kind of the same it’s just a dialect kind of thing in different places in the world. I don’t know. In the afternoon I walked all over the town of Copan and shot photos and looked around at stores and people. I met a few more Americans and a girl from Belgium who is working here until February. The internet was so slow and by the time I waited through five lempiras worth of time I found that I had no mail. I walked back home and had dinner alone again with the cats and the parakeet. Reyna’s husband Tullio, an older man who has a worn face and tattered clothes came in and had some food. The parakeet kept making so much noise. Reyna finally went over and whacked it with the newspaper. It was kind of funny. She is a totally nutty. After dinner I did some homework then I went over to a restaurant to meet some folks that I met earlier in the day. They never showed so I went over and called my parents and told them how homesick I was. Then I just hung around there a few minutes and chatted to the money taker and her friend Arthur then I walked back home. I had a funny conversation about the people in Honduras with Reyna then I went in and did more homework. Then back into sleep.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb