WARNING To Fellow Travelers Heading To Copan, Honduras!


Advertisement
Published: November 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Copan Ruinas TownCopan Ruinas TownCopan Ruinas Town

Shotguns are common in this town. I bought one.
Fellow travelers, I wish to warn you about a hotel in Copan Ruinas, Honduras if you're headed that way. DO NOT stay at "Hotel Moises". The owner, Moises, overcharged us for the room after initially giving us a lower price. THEN he sold us a trip to Rio Dulce that didn't take us all the way. The vans that transport travelers are contractors and work with hotel owners. The driver dropped us off at Rio Hondo. Before I bought the ticket from Moises, I asked that if that the transport would take us all the way to Rio Dulce. He assured me it would. So, when the chauffeur stopped at Rio Hondo to drop us off, I of course jumped on him. He informed me that he was only instructed to drop us off at Rio Hondo because he was headed to Antigua (opposite direction from where we were going). That's what he was paid for. HELL NO! I stressed to him that that was NOT what we paid Moises for. I was PISSED!! The chauffeur decided to buy me and my friend a bus ticket to Rio Dulce. He informed me that he would speak to Moises to see if
Copan Ruinas TownCopan Ruinas TownCopan Ruinas Town

A "pupu" store?? What da??
he would pay him back. Who knows. Anyway, take this advice any way you want. Stay at Cafe ViaVia which is across the street from Hotel Moises. The place is nice and cheap.

To my readers, we visited the Copan Ruins in Honduras. There wasn't much to the town of Copan Ruinas. We primarily came to Honduras to visit the ruins only. The town is close to the Guatemalan border. At the ruins there were stone figures that were impressive. Our guide, Virgilio, was of Mayan decent and was very knowledgeable on the history of the ruins in Copan. The ruins were alright. I think the ruins in Palenque and Chichén Itzá were more impressive. However, Copan was still interesting to visit and learn about.

No body slams in this town or crazy drunken nights. The town was kind of boring actually. Met some Californian chicks. They were alright until one commented that she hated Texas (even though she's never been there). I almost smacked her with my shoe. Cause you know, assaults with shoes can be VERY effective. I held off.

on the road....yet again,
alex


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Copan Ruinas TownCopan Ruinas Town
Copan Ruinas Town

The town square with TukTuks (pronounced took-tooks).
Copan Ruinas TownCopan Ruinas Town
Copan Ruinas Town

Me wheelin' and dealin'.
Copan Ruinas TownCopan Ruinas Town
Copan Ruinas Town

Cows are cool.
Copan RuinsCopan Ruins
Copan Ruins

The ball court.
Copan RuinsCopan Ruins
Copan Ruins

Roots from a 500-year old tree.
Copan RuinsCopan Ruins
Copan Ruins

"Yes..yes. I see. Very interesting."


Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb