Mayan Ruins


Advertisement
Published: September 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We are well into week 2 of school and things are in full swing around here! I have been learning a lot these past few weeks. But amidst all the work it is important to have fun too, and that is what I did last Sunday. The pastor's wife in my church recently started working at the Mayan Ruins. They are about 10 minutes away by car from my house. We were talking one day and the family asked me if I had visited the ruins yet. I said no, because Americans are charged 15 dollars each and I am a cheapskate! So my dear pastor's wife, sister Vilma, did some talking and I was able to enter with her family for free!! What a deal! I have been very blessed to have met this family, they have been a family to me when mine is so far away.

Well, the ruins are spread out on a very large plot of land. Everything is quite shapely and mathematical, and if you know anything about the Mayans, that is true to form. We walked for several hours and I know we did not explore everything. We did not do a tourist kind of thing and read every sign, so I don't have a lot of information for you. It was more like a Sunday afternoon walk kind of thing. But seeing it is so close, I might be able to slip in a few more times while I´m here.

Hope you enjoy the pictures. They are a reminder to me that God knows what we need and want, and He has been so good to even provide the things I want, I am extremely thankful!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Alligator or Crocodile Alligator or Crocodile
Alligator or Crocodile

It's even harder to figure out which one it is when it is thousands of years old and slightly moldy.


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb