Zip Line Adventure!!!


Advertisement
Published: July 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I finally did it!! After nearly a year and a half in Copán and hearing all about the Canapy Tour, and how I "have to do it before leaving Copán!!"...Angel and I took the plunge.

For her last day in Copán, we waited for the Canopy Tour pick up truck and crew to pick us up at our house. I knew it was going to be a classy time when they were willing to pick us up wherever...even at my house way up in San Pedrito Abajo. Thankfully one of the crew guys lives just up the road from me, is friends with my neighbors and knew exactly where we were at.

We bumped along in the back of the pickup, chatting with a girl from New York that had been studying in Cosa Rica and was traveling before heading home. (OK, acutally, I chatted with her in Spanish and Angel listened.)

We signed our lives away on saftey sheets, got "suited up", fitted, and off we went again, this time high up into the mountain. After arriving at the starting point our two guides gave us the saftey run down...I translated (kind of) for Angel, then one by one the three of us were hooked up to the cable and zoomed down, who-knows how high off the ground. I absolutely fell in love with it the moment my feet left the platform. INCREDIBLE!!!

There were about a dozen cables in all. The longest being a little shorter than 1 KM. The green forest was beneath us, the mountains all around, the city of Copán nestled in the distance, the river winding below, and the Mayan Ruins to our left. What a feeling of excitement and freedom.

It lasted for about 45 minutes and was over all too quickly. All of us were ready to sign up for the job. How cool would that be? (OK...so I'm sure the excitement wears off after the uptienth time...but still).

If by the absolute end of my time here I have an extra 30 bucks I'm not sure what to do with I think I'll go for another round. 😊 Of course...I may just need that 30 something to pay my exit fee at the airport. Hmm...dilema...zipline or go home....????

Advertisement



5th July 2008

Comparing Cities
Hi April. It is really nice to read your entries you are doing a great job teaching and spreading the good news very admirable. I am originally from El Salvador and I had a good time reading your experiences there I live now in MI and I have visited Detroit several times I find it very noicy too. but I love it here because lots of friendly people. Please write more and post more pictures. Adios
10th July 2008

El Salvador is a beautiful place to be from! I absolutely LOVED the people there! I'm hoping to put up more photos...it's often a challenge in the internet cafes, and with the power going out. :)

Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 65; dbt: 0.1005s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb