¡Bañando en el Rìo!


Advertisement
Published: August 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

In January I wouldn´t have imagined going in the Copàn River...just didn´t seem like the healthiest thing in the world to do. But on a HOT Honduran afternoon anything related to water sounds good!

We were up-stream from the green water coming in from town (I didn´t even need to ask what that was), and we were down-stream from the cow crossing... but I haven´t grown a third arm or eye or anything like that, so I deam the rivers SAFE!

The current was pretty strong, so we made our way to a deeper part and let the current carry us down. Fun and thrilling (but I´m easily entertained!).

On this first trip I wore my swimsuit, but I´ve found that most people either bath with all their clothes on or naked (though that´s mostly the kids). I´m chosing the fully clothed option for my future river adventures. 😊

They don´t call it "swimming" either...it´s "bathing". This is partly, I think, because most people don´t know how to actually SWIM, plus a lot people go to the river to actually BATHE themselves when the water´s off. Streams and rivers are also used for washing clothes, so for most adults going to the Río isn´t exactly for fun and adventure; they usually have a much more practical purpose in mind.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

My "Family"My "Family"
My "Family"

Aura, her sister Claudia, and their kids!


Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.081s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb