Teaching @ Mayatan


Advertisement
Published: June 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My ClassMy ClassMy Class

Here's Second Grade "B"!
Whoo-Whoo!!! School's out for the summer! Today was the last day of exams for my kids. It was a bit anti-climatic. They took longer than I thought to finish their English and Science tests, so I didn't have time to do any wrap-up, saying 'good-bye' activities. But I wasn't too bummed about it. This was an extremely difficult 4 months since I came in half-way through the year, as their 3rd teacher for the year; didn't have a clue what the kids knew or should be learning; no curriculum; lots of behavioral issues, academic issues, and I was sick for the first two weeks! Ahh....sweet, sweet memories!

But it's all just a distant memorie now, and I think we all had a few more good days than hard ones, so we'll call it a success! Actually, I've seen a lot of progress in some of my students, both with their academics and their behavior. It such a mixture of abilities though. Some of the students are well beyond the others in their English ability, and then there's a few that I don't think even understand anything I'm saying. Two students will be repeating 2nd grade.

I think it'll
In ClassIn ClassIn Class

Working hard!
be fun to be around next year and get to see how the kids grow and change and (hopefully) improve. The plan is for me to work as an English language resource person, and pull out the kids that are really struggling with the language and work one-on-one with them for an hour 2 or 3 times a week. I like that a lot better than classroom teaching, and there's such a need for individual instruction.

Probably my best times at school this year were
1) the FUN DAY we had back in February. The ninth graders put on games and food, contests and prizes. It was a bit crazy, but I like the casual better than the formal.
2) Teaching the Bible Club every Wednesdays after school. There were about 10 faithful kids, and more than 20 'enrolled'. I felt in my zone when I'm teaching them about Jesus! It's so much more fun (and meaninful) than teaching math, language and spelling! Our very last day of club the kids made their own Wordless Books and Bracelets to take home. They LOVED it! Will definitely be doing more Bible Clubs and other ministires with the students (and hopefully
Bible ClubBible ClubBible Club

Making their books and bracelets at Bible Club!
staff) next year!


Advertisement



19th August 2007

Love Your Writing
Dear Daughter, I love to read of your experiences. Guess I am getting good at living vicariously! You are such a great example of living your theology in the real world. I trust God for His continued SUPER Blessings on your life. Love, Mom

Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1081s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb