Learning Spanish in Honduras


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Northern » La Ceiba
December 24th 2011
Published: January 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Learning Spanish in Honduras
Dec13-25
Alright lets see. I will try and catch up the past almost 2 weeks briefly.
I left the states this time as most, full of emotions. "why am I leaving, cannt I have normal life and live for the weekends like most people, being sad saying by to mom and dad." I am normally reassure myself with in the first day or so, generally by surfing, meeting people, doing some fun activity and say "yes this is why I do what I do and love my life". However this time around it was a bit rougher. My first day of Spanish classes it rained most of the day, as we walked around to have a city tour. I was pretty disappointed by the beach and the city. I started freaking out, what was I going to do here for 4 weeks. So the first few days I sent many emails to my rents about my life decisions and emotions. I constantly flip flop between loving my life and wanting a normal life. Totally dependent on my mood and current situation. I went back and froth from wanting to go home and wanting to stay. In any event I am staying clearly I don't want to quite anything. So yes the weekends are crazy long and the avos are quite slow but it's for a greater good. If I come home in a few months and have even a bit of a better grasp on Spanish it'll be ok, just another life experience for me. Especially if I want to open a hostel/ surf camp someday. Which is really sparking interest with me now because my in march a bunch of my friends will be coming down to celebrate things. Marriage to law school to me organizing the trip. It's really driving me to learn spanish so when they all come down I can be the translator. But I'm a slow learner so well see haha. Anyway I have joined a crappy gym here to eat up a bit of my free time as well as prepare for thetough mudder run in may. I run occasionally as well. I went skating once so far but the roads are poured concrete and they are very eroded so not very skateable. I spend time on Facebook talking about this march el Salvador trip and playing words with friends with my family. Thank you guys for keeping me sane. Haha
As for my Spanish classes they are pretty good. I'm learning stuff I had forgotten or not really used as my Spanish was very basic and just enough to get around and what not. So I'm learning the tenses as well as more verbs. My homestay is decent. The mother is 28 and we are in her fathers house she has 2 cute girls that can be loud and annoying at times. Makes me not want kids. Haha. But Alexandra the mother is very nice and cooks every meal for us. She spends alot of time at her fiancée house which is nice, we get some quite time. There are 2 other American girls and 1 German girl staying here as well which is nice but we all speak in English so I don't get to practice as much as I thought I would in a home stay. So I'm thinking after here I'll go to Antigua Guatemala and take 6-8 hours of class a day mostly conversational I hope by then. At least I'm getting some grammar down now.
We hope to do sone activities in the avos or weekends but it's hard because this is Xmas weekend and next is new years. Plus it's not a very touristy area and all of the tours need at least 2 or so people. Hopefully sone rafting hiking and kayaking soon though. That should lift my mood as well. What else hmm. I have been having crazy vivid dreams due to my malaria drugs I think and christmas is crazy here everyone let off fireworks in the street last night quite mayhem. Different cultures. Oh well. Don't know what else to rite so.
Well merry Christmas and happy holidays.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb