Rain, rain, go away


Advertisement
Published: August 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Pre-monsoonPre-monsoonPre-monsoon

A tranquil spill way...
I woke to sparkling sunlight, so after fully coating myself in sunscreen and bug spray I headed to the pool. Somehow the clouds were timed with my walk and arrived precisely the same time I did. Bummer.

Then it poured. And poured. More rain than even my first day. I took pictures of the rain. I took a video of the rain. I stood outside in the rain. I have never heard rain pound down out of the sky like this ever before. All of my papers are damp. All my book covers are curling. And my swimsuit from Friday is still soaking wet. Worked nicely for an afternoon siesta though.
I still enjoyed the day nibbling on delicious Honduran baledas and chatting with Richard the owner here (his thoughts on Honduran child rearing and US cities were quite informative). I also spent some time playing with his stepdaughter and her pet rat, both who were quite adorable. He agreed that it was best not to try hiking in the rain (or after such heavy rainfall), as the hiking here is steep and muddy on a good day. Sliding down a muddy mountain into a class V raging river would
Post-monsoonPost-monsoonPost-monsoon

A raging waterfall!!
not constitute “vacation”, but more of a nightmare.

Tomorrow I leave for Roatan. My driver, Ralph, from the airport, is taking me to the ferry. And Adi, the owner of Lands End (my next hotel), is picking me up when I arrive. They certainly are accustom to providing excellent service here. (As opposed to our delightful experience in Ft. Lauderdale.)


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb