YO NO QUIERO IR!!!


Advertisement
Published: August 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Pool with the view down to the river. Pool with the view down to the river. Pool with the view down to the river.

Where I spend the morning.
Today I got to see the sun! (For more than 5 minutes at a time.) And realized the hotel is not a Stephen King novel where everyone has been enveloped into the mist. I developed a routine based on the Honduran weather…sun=pool, hazy=hike, rain=read or workout. Nothing occurs for any set amount of time. All are completely contingent upon the weather.
I still have yet to use much Spanish, as most of the staff here speaks English. Today I told the housekeeping woman “no gracias” when I think she asked me if I needed more towels. I do not. However I will need toilet paper soon and that is not a word I practiced in Spanish. I will perhaps try, “papier pour el bano”. And I hope that no hand gestures will be involved.
The bartender at the restaurant here has befriended me and invited me to the discotheque in La Ceiba where he teaches dancing. I screamed NO!! No La Ceiba! No discotheque! No going out after dark!! YO NO QUIERO IR!!! I am here to travel like a Mormon. Or a Baptist. No drinking, no dancing. He also informed me that he saw a boa constrictor on the property
Rio Cangrejal.Rio Cangrejal.Rio Cangrejal.

The river of CRABS. But I haven't seen any yet.
today. A boa constrictor. They can EAT people.
I did not expect my possible demise might be..."devoured by boa constrictor WHILE AT THE POOL." Although I suspect the boa is more interested in the owner's cat.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

El Bujeco.El Bujeco.
El Bujeco.

Waterfall I'm hiking to tomorrow. I don't know what it means. Hopefully not, "where we steal your wallet".


1st August 2010

Seriously? Hiking to the waterfall... by yourSELF??? As much as I am enjoying the pics and your blogs - I am going to be immensly relieved when the two of you are at LEAST in the same place together. Even more - when you are home safely! We actually had a trip to Honduras planned 8 yrs ago - the summer Kristin ended up PG w/ Cierra. We were going to a coffee co-op w/ a friend who was in peace corp and then to Roatan. Looks beautiful! Know that we look forward to your posts and are praying for your safety AND fun adventures.
2nd August 2010

toilet paper
papel higiénico

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb