A la playa


Advertisement
Published: June 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

La Ceiba



La Ceiba
Robertson
I made it to La Ceiba last night. It took forever to get here. By the time I got off the bus I was aching and ready to stand up for a bit. I was picked up by one of my professors and taken to my new home for the next 4 weeks. I´m staying with abuelos (grandparents) and their grandkids are on summer break so they are there too. Their names are Mary and Guierrmo. They also have a housekeeper, which is normal for families that can afford them. They basically become part of the family. The Meyers had one as well who had the most beautiful little 2 year old I´ve ever seen, Jennifer. It makes me feel a little weird because I don´t know what I should do myself and what Olga does, that´s the housekeeper here. I guess I´ll clean all my own stuff until she tells me differently.

I have my own room that´s separate from the house. It´s right next door to Olga´s room. I´ve got my own bathroom and entrance as well. It´s a pretty nice little set up.

I was a bit overwhelmed when I got here last night. I didn´t have anyone to rely on to translate the Spanish I didn´t know. I guess that´s the whole reason I did this. That´s the best way to learn a language. Just jump right into it. The grandkids know a little English. So when we get pretty stuck on a word, they chime in to help.

Everything is pretty much closed today since it´s Sunday. Someone from the school is picking me up tomorrow morning and giving me a tour of the town. I´m so excited. I can tell that these 4 weeks are going to fly by.

I´m still trying to find a place that will make a photo CD. I found a kodak place but they didn´t make CDs.

Hope all is well
Love you Chance!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0598s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb