Onward We Go


Advertisement
Published: January 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I rolled over at 5:30am to get up and Matt and Justin were already awake. We all slowly packed our bags to catch the 6:20am ferry off of Utila. I woke James up but he decided this morning that he wasn't coming with us. It was a little surprising but he had hinted at it earlier in the trip. He will stay and travel with Morris I think. I think we will see him again in Nicaragua so we will keep in touch online. The rest of us said our goodbyes and headed to the ferry. The regular tickets were sold out so we had to go first class which was 2 dollars more expensive. Not too bad because we got good seats and TVs. It was a super rough boat ride back and when we got to the shores of La Ceiba there is a rock point that the boat has to get by. With the huge swells it looked like we had come all this way only to turn around. Our captain had other ideas though and gunned it through the narrow gap. Whew, we were on our way! We jumped in a cab and were rushed onto the first bus with no time to spare. Without breakfast we were all miserable. Our first stop was at 2:00pm and we were starving. The cafateria style restaurant got a good deal of money from us as we stocked up on chicken, potatoes, rice, avocado and other food. Then we were off again towards Tegucagalpa, the capital of Honduras. It is suposed to be a pretty bad city but we don't have much of a choice. We arrived after dark and got some help from a local to get a cab to her recommended hotel. I guess she didn't understand us very well because we were dropped off at a hotel that costs 100 usd a night. We left instantly and jumped back into the cab. This time we went with the lonely planet's recommendation and ended up at a good cheap hotel. After a quick dinner we all jumped into bed. It took 12 hours to do the trip that should have taken 9. We have to remember these time issues. It shouldn't be too hard for us to remember, add a few hours to ever bus ride 😊. Tomorrow we plan to get into Nicaragua so we will have another long travel day. I wish we had done more planning because now we miss El Salvador unless we want to backtrack a long way. As it is we still have so much to see so missing a few places is going to happen. Honduras was a nice country but there isn't a whole lot to do here it seems. The bay islands are a must, we missed the ruins of Copan but other than those two our fellow backpackers couldn't recommend anything that really appealed to us.

Advertisement



5th January 2010

Advice
Hi - just been reading your blogs and need some advice if you can spare a few minutes. We are planning a trip to central america and were happy with most of the places but Honduras seems a bit dodgy, were currently starting off in San Pedro Sula and heading to Routan but the misses (and me) are concerned about our safety and just wondered if you either confirm or deny the safety of the area as a whole as not many people are traveling around Honduras at the moment - any advice much appreciated and happy travels... Steve and Suzanne
6th January 2010

Honduras
Hello there! I am traveling with a few friends but have met many traveler in Honduras. From San Pedro to Roatan you should be fine. I have heard from another couple at this hostel that they really enjoyed it (I never got there because we chose Utila instead). Over the last dozen days in Honduras I never once had a feeling that I was in danger. I was uneasy going to the capital Teguc. at night because I heard it was bad. Once we got there though a taxi driver took us to a hostel and we were fine. In La Cieba (docking point to Roatan) I walked the streets at night and was fine. Overall it is a lot like the other central American countries in my mind. In Roatan there are tons of tourists I hear and the bus from San Pedro to La Ceiba is safe. I hoped this helped a little :) you shouldn't have to worry too much about your safety following the regular tourist precautions. If you have any more questions don't hesatate to ask and happy travels, you will enjoy Honduras I'm sure! The Bay Islands are great.
1st February 2010

tegucigalpa
hey, how are you. I have just read that you found a hostel in the capital. Do you remember the name, because we cant find a hostel? thank you very much, diana
5th February 2010

Teguc
Hi there, sorry for getting back to you so late, we were traveling onto Panama and I didn't have Internet. I hope you found one as I can't remember the one we stayed at. It was in the lonely planet as number one if that helps at all. Safe travels and sorry I can't remember!

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb