Weekend of Games


Advertisement
Published: August 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Mini PuttMini PuttMini Putt

Walt getting lessons from a worker during his first ever putt-putt game!
The weekend started horribly, as Thursday night I was feeling rather congested, and by Friday, I was teaching the entire day with a box of kleenex at my side. My students kept saying, "Why are you crying Mees?" and I had to try to explain that every time my nose ran, my one eye would start to water - not both - just one.

Friday afternoon I came home from school and rested. I also had a big conversation with Walter on the phone about our relationship. I had no idea where things stood and how I was feeling about it all. I get so confused and question things so often that I think I'm crazy. One minute I'm happy and the next I'm not.

Friday night I was a big hot mess.

Saturday was better. I woke up feeling less congested and my leaky eye stopped.

Sarah K texted me about going for sushi, so for lunch I joined Sarah, Jimmy, and Pam. We ordered tons of food and then shared it between the 4 of us. We were full! We then went and got some awesome frozen yogurt and waited for Walter to get to
Sarah KSarah KSarah K

taking her shot - she ended up being the big winner of the afternoon!
Tegus. Once he arrived, the 5 of us went to play mini golf at a local place nearby. Walt and Jimmy had never played before so it was amusing.

After putt putt, we enjoyed a couple beers, dropped Pam off at home and then Jimmy, Walt, Sarah, and I went to play pool again. I'm actually loving the game. I still suck but it's become fun game for the 4 of us. Jimmy and Sarah are great company for Walt and I. It's given Walt and I a set of mutual friends that we can both relate to. I was feeling much better about

Sunday Libby (Sarah K's sister) picked Walt and I up at our apartment and we went over to Sarah and Jimmy's place to BBQ for lunch. BBQ chicken, grilled veggies, fresh tortillas, quesito, and hot sauce = fantastic.

That afternoon was BINGO time! Sarah T volunteers for an organization that is trying to open the first animal shelter in Tegus and was using Bingo as a fundraiser. I've never EVER played a bingo game that went SO long. It was meant to start at 2pm, started at 3pm, and finished around 6:30. The
Volcano HoleVolcano HoleVolcano Hole

This was a ridiculous hole!
guy hosting was an old TV broadcast personality and was NUTS. He was calling numbers so slowly that you could have conversations between numbers. THEN, he knew we were running late so the last hour was running through the numbers so quickly that we were all repeating them to each other in English because he was going so fast, it was hard to keep track. Good times though.

After bingo, Walt and I had a great talk. We somehow lost 4 hours in conversation. Things felt almost normal again with us. The old "us" felt back again and it felt great.

Today was the start of our first full week of school. I still don't know all my students' names. EEEK!

After school I decided to go with Kallie to the nearby gym. It's about a 5-10 min walk from our apartment. I signed up for a one month membership, as I'm not sure how long I want to commit or how busy I'll get with school. Kallie and I decided to take the "baile" (dance) class and were doing salsa, merengue, and bachata basics as well as gyrating hips and pelvic thrusts to reggaeton music. Apparently
CURVE!CURVE!CURVE!

Jimmy tried to get the ball around the curve. I don't think any of us actually made it straight around the first time.
our instructor is a male stripper in town. He was super perverted, calling me "mami" throughout the class. Oh Honduras, you always have a way of amusing me.

All in all, it was a good weekend and the start of a good week 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Cervesas!Cervesas!
Cervesas!

Walt, Me, Pam, and Sarah drinking beers after our big game ;)
Pool HallPool Hall
Pool Hall

Walt is getting quite good at the game!
Late Night KFCLate Night KFC
Late Night KFC

The 4 of us were hungry after pool so we stopped for some KFC :)
BINGO!BINGO!
BINGO!

Sunday afternoon Bingo
Loving the game...Loving the game...
Loving the game...

... although it hadn't even started yet. Typical Honduras; gotta wait an hour for the event to ACTUALLY start.
Sarah and JimmySarah and Jimmy
Sarah and Jimmy

Before we were all frustrated with the bingo host :P
Libby and her Oxen!Libby and her Oxen!
Libby and her Oxen!

Libby had to sing a song in Spanish, so she sang "Happy Birthday" which won her these lovely oxen and cart, as well as a woven basket!
GOL!GOL!
GOL!

Pam had to pretend to be a futbol announcer and give details leading up to "GOOOOOOOOOOLLLLLL!" which won her 300Lempiras ($15) to Ruby Tuesdays.


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb