Photos and a mugging


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Central » Comayagua
December 4th 2006
Published: December 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

9th grade boys9th grade boys9th grade boys

Jorge,Tulio,Edwardo,Chino,Fabian,Ricky,and Alex
Yep, I got mugger walking home with a roomy from Morgans bar like I always do. I am fine just got some money and my phone stolen. I have already bought a new phone and the number is 504 324 0887, give me a call. And yes, I will be taking cabs for awhile.
Things are winding down here. Less then a week for me to work and the kids will finish up with the ESL lessons I have been giving. After break we will start with the hard stuff again, writing. I hope now they are ready. Fred will be here in a week which means I will be on vacation for 3 weeks. I cannot wait! I need it and am soo ready to be traveling again for a bit.
We are doing secret santas with the staff, you're supposed to give a little gift every day this week and then a big gift (no LESS than $10 us, which I kinda think is a lot here but...) that gift will be exchanged at our Chirstmas party on Sat. which is apprently going to be at a concrete factory???? The Chirstmas tree is up in the plaza and
8th grade8th grade8th grade

This is probably my favorite class. I teach two subjects with them, writing and spelling (go figure) They are one of my smallest classes with only 18 students
there are food stands and such there for the next two weeks. It helps to get in the holiday spirit when away from family and with no snow. The whether is staying pretty cool which is very nice as well. I guess that is it. I miss you mucho, Love, Kari


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

power hourpower hour
power hour

Gustavo, Alisa and Jill. Who knew power hour had a theme, ours was apparently black with scarves. Yep, this is what we do when we don't have to work on Monday...
Jenna and ChrisJenna and Chris
Jenna and Chris

Gustavo,Leah, Julie, me, Chris, Alisa, Nadia and Jill after Arts party in the plaza on the way to La Gota bar
talent showtalent show
talent show

One of the grades threw a bunch of confetti from the top floor down onto the stage, the younger kids in front love it! They played with it the rest of the show
PreppaPreppa
Preppa

These kids were so darling in their packages for the talent show
Popo and DanielPopo and Daniel
Popo and Daniel

Seniors singing Bohemian Rapsody... trying to anyway. The crowd loved it, they even moshed, jumping into the crowd.
La Tigra National parkLa Tigra National park
La Tigra National park

A while back on a 3 day weekend I went to Tegucigalpa and got a room. From there a took I few side trips one was to this park where I hiked around for the day. I also went to Valle de Angels which was a quaint little town very different from Comayagua
FlowerFlower
Flower

One of the cool flowers I saw on my hike.. that's about all I saw though, no animals.
Blue mushroomBlue mushroom
Blue mushroom

I actually saw several of these on my hike, thought they were pretty


7th December 2006

Dec. 5
I think I finally have your blog in a safe place where it won't be erased. Maybe I shouldn't show this one to Pam. It might get her a little aprehensive.
8th December 2006

muggered?
I can't believe you got muggered.. How crazy is that!! So glad you're ok though!!!!! Are blue mushrooms edible? love ya girlie
11th December 2006

Muggins
Hello Smate! finally got round to commenting on your blog, its good stuff, keep it up. makes interesting reading compared to my research... Take care, no more muggins. Love H
13th December 2006

love your blogs keep them coming but no more mugging
16th December 2006

xmas
Kari-love the site and pics. Miss your great conversations and sharing smokey snacks. Wish you a wonderful holiday season from "home." I just finished my first semester of law school and it sucked hard. I feel a vacation to santiago coming on!

Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0807s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb