How Could I Not See a Whale Shark...?


Advertisement
Published: April 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

View from Captain MorgansView from Captain MorgansView from Captain Morgans

The reef and snorkelling right out the front door. Nice place to hang and soak in the sun.
they are the biggest fish in the world...measuring up to 40 - 60 ft.

Spent semana santa (Easter Week) on the island of Utila in search of the ever elusive and shy whale shark...but never saw one. Stayed on Pigeon Cay (island) a short distance off the coast of Utila...dove every day...chatted with interesting characters...and ate the local "cuisine". Captain Morgans provided a great small dive boat, and professional dive Masters. I never went to the same site more than 1ce in the 10 consecutive dives I did.

No whale shark...but lots of beautiful coral, fish, underwater formations, sponges etc etc.

Saw a school of over 30 dolphins on my last day and snorkelled with them.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

CuriousCurious
Curious

School of 30+ dolphins spotted off the side of the boat.
Kiss Me I'm yoursKiss Me I'm yours
Kiss Me I'm yours

Curious french angel fish.
Can You Find the Trumpet Fish?Can You Find the Trumpet Fish?
Can You Find the Trumpet Fish?

Hint: these fish can swim in any direction.
Let Sleeping Sharks Lie...Let Sleeping Sharks Lie...
Let Sleeping Sharks Lie...

Nurse shark spotted at the end of a dive.
My Home for the WeekMy Home for the Week
My Home for the Week

Captain Morgans was a perfect choice...clean...quiet...and only $5 per night.


Tot: 0.313s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb