Labadee, Haiti


Advertisement
Haiti's flag
Central America Caribbean » Haiti
February 19th 2007
Published: February 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post



I arrive on the tender from the biggest ship in the world from the Royal Carribean cruize lines and ofcourse i'm late for my kayaking adventure. But that doesn't distract me from the beautiful landscape i spot from the boat. The hills of Haiti were covered with a dense lush greeness it was spectacular. I step foot on the beach and this was the first international land i've ever been on besides frequent trips to Mexico. All of us in CA belive that Mexico isn't a real International destoination its just Mexico haha. I rush over to the kayak place and hop on the kayak. They took us down the Haitian coast explaining some general knowledge about the island and the locals. It was a nice little trip and we got to see more of the island besides the little spot where you're pretty much roped off from the rest of Haiti. Labedee is this small place that Royal Carribean has purchased and uses as a first stop on their western caribbean cruize. It was pretty basic and dragons point was a definate highlight of the island. when you get to the top of dragons point it sounds like a dragons breathe at the top. I don't know how but it must have somthing to do with the tides coming in a creating pressure of some sort. After wandering around a bit i settle in on this beach and crash under the palms. i was pretty hung over from partying on da boat and this weather wasn't helping. It was "Hotter than Haiti!" The water was warm to so it was pretty disasterous for a drunk!


I collect wooden masks from all over the world and this was my first time i actually got to go to a foreign land and buy my own mask! usually friends and family buy them on a vacation and bring them back. So i bought the biggest one i could find it was 2' x 1' huge for a mask! so i carried this giant of a mask around all day. It was Alan and Masks DAY OF FUN!! haha

I bought this mask for $25 usd which is a steal. I was pretty excited to get it but i didn't think about how i was going to get it home because it didn't fit in my bag! so i had to carry it as a carry on. it was pretty entertaining.

this is a map of my trip does anybody know if u can change the colors so you know when you traveled by aeroplane, boat or car?? thanks



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



7th September 2008

Labadee
I was born near Labadee I use to go there almost every day for free.

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb