Atitlan


Advertisement
Published: August 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi all, hard to believe I'm in my last week! We started another house on Friday and unfortunately it won't be finished until next Monday so I won't get to see the last day which is sad but hey never mind my sweat is in the foundations!!
Just wanted to write about the weekend. A group of us went to lake Atitlan which was beautiful. We stayed in an eco-lodge, set in the hills of the lake. Saturday we went out on the lake in kayaks which was great fun and included a few comedy moments..I think we had a couple of people fall in and another jump in on a rescue mission and at the same time another was floating around without an oar!!
We then spent the afternoon climbing up the surrounding hills. I stupidly only had flip flops on but I still managed to skip up the hill (yes skip..I was at one with nature I loved it!) The scenery was stunning and we ended the day watching the sun going down behind a volcano across the lake, special.
We had a quiet evening, having a few cocktails and someone had told us about a bar a short walk from the lodge so we decided to give it a look. We took a couple of torches and walked along the lake side which was interesting in the dark but worth it to find a cross dressing party going on and a sofa to sit on! I know you might think it odd to mention the sofa but I havn't sat on one since leaving England...one of those small pleasure things. Anyway it was a really good night and one that meant all we could manage on Sunday was chilling. Was sad to leave the lake but glad to be back at work yesterday, how lovely to say that..Anyway hasta luego, Karen. oh by the way the host family diners are going well...I had six potatoes for dinner last night??!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0703s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb