Home for a quick visit!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent » Maidstone
August 21st 2008
Published: August 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

young girlyoung girlyoung girl

this one to me captures how I remember the past month in guatemala...

Leaving Guatemala.


Well I'm back in England for a brief interlude before hoping off again but I just wanted to write one more blog to finish my trip off in Guatemala. I can't quite believe I've been away for six weeks, in one way the time has flown and at other times I felt like I had been on the project for months rather than weeks...in a good way!
I have loved it and felt like I could have kept going for a lot longer,time permitting. Physically it was challenging but I loved it and was able to cope quite well to my surprise. I wanted to put on some more pictures to show the six day stages of the house build. I know it's a pretty basic abode but a six day turn around is good going. I just wish I could have stayed and built some more and also would like to fund raise for the charity to give more money for more houses. The project wish to build a school in the future which would be a fantastic cause...look out for me asking for sponsorship in the future!!



I also wanted to put a couple of pics on here from the last house I worked on as the family were so lovely. The children were adorable and the grandfather of the household went to work in the coffee plantation to earn enough money to look after four adults and four children as his daughter had been widowed . In his seventies that must be hard going, makes you stop and pause eh...
I sifted through my pics and tried to pic out my favourites and came up with one in particular of the young girl as this to me embodies my trip so far, the places you see when you travel are awsome the people are what touches you and leave the lasting print.



Anyway it's lovely to be back to see everyone even if way to quick but at least it's given me a chance to download all 750 of my pictures, sorry to those who have sat through them! Guatemala will stay with me for a while I'm sure but it's onto the next stop on Sunday, India. Not entirely sure what I'm doing there I'll find out Monday?! That's what I love though that all I know is what airport to be at and when and the rest will just fall into place. No expectations that way, just go with the flow...
So my next blog should be from there, the plan is India one month, Sri lanka one month, Thailand six weeks and then Australia three months so I'll be back in good old England end of feb2009, see you then, in the mean time I'll keep you posted, Karen x


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Kevin!Kevin!
Kevin!

Yes that really was his name. This was a lovely, cheeky boy from the family of the last house I worked on.


21st August 2008

my snelling!!
Hi just a quick note to say there is no spell check on the blog so i'm sorry about the spelling on my blogs! ... I am hopping off again not hoping! but those of you who know me wouldn't expect any different. xx
21st August 2008

Hi ya Karen
Just wanted to say...rock on!!! Your blog entries have been entertaining and interesting...in some ways I feel I'm almost with you!! (without the sunshine). Ever thought about being a travel writer...life moves in mysterious ways anyway enjoy your time with the family and enjoy the rest of your journey, I'm sure you'll keep entertaining us. Good luck, keep safe love Harshaxx

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb