Guatemala


Advertisement
Published: November 7th 2005
Edit Blog Post

HotelHotelHotel

Awful picture, but it was the only Guatemala one I have so far (camera was deep in my bag all day). This is a view from Flores (the roof of our place) and its only 25 quintal a day (about $3 USD).
Well we did it... finally the first country NONE of us have been too. We woke up at 6am and the goof that picked us up demanded 700 more pesos. We argued and cursed and told him to phone the guy at the bar we bought the tickets from (seriously) we drove into Palenque and it was "miraculously" sorted out. Good. Done with Mexico! We drove for awhile to an amazing breakfast. Did I mention it was an amazing breakfast?

Ok let me explain this, back a few hours prior I was woke up at 5:30 AM from the alarm on my watch and was taken from a beautiful dream involving the most delicious home made breakfast that Dad made me, garlic hash browns, that special bacon with honey and mustard baked in the oven, scrambled eggs with cheeses and peppers, when my alarm woke me and I cursed at waking up in my own sweat, wet clothes from the humidity and a room with dozens of ants on the floor.

It was really quite a dream, I forgot to mention all my dreams have been realy vivid because of these malaria drugs, its really awesome actually even though its been freaking me out a bit. Planning on starting a dream log soon.

Anyways, back to the breakfast, it was amazing because since the dream I was craving a good plate of food, then I got it. Thankfully I had pesos for it because I had forgotten about the deposit I left on the room I collected moments before leaving the jungle. The guy wasnt happy being woken up at 5:45, he came to his door in his underwear really confused, and you know a Mexican is tired when he doesnt even count the money you give him.

So then we continued to the border, arrive and stamp out of Mexico in our passports and then down to the river to get our boat. On the way over we find Aongus (sp?) and he was waiting there for us. Funny since we didnt tell him when we were going there. Apparently he hitchiked the day before slept on someones floor then waited for us... pretty funny. Anyways we hop in the boats, all said our prayers and set down across the river to Guatemala.

Got to the other side, went into the shadyest immigration office I have ever seen, then continued on to Flores. Found our place, and then signed up for a 6 day jungle trek with donkeys and real Guatemalan guides!

Leave for that on Tuesday, visiting Tikal manana!

Will try to update before dissapearing into the jungle Tuesday!



Advertisement



7th November 2005

wassup!
mate good to see how dedicated you are to the blog! glad you made it to guatamala... Will hopefully see you guys in honduras that is if you survive the jungle! Adios for now buddy!

Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 29; qc: 125; dbt: 0.1279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb