Carnaval 2005 in Bonao


Advertisement
Published: July 3rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Carnaval Bonao, Dominican RepublicCarnaval Bonao, Dominican RepublicCarnaval Bonao, Dominican Republic

Carnaval celebration from Bonao, Dominican Republic
Having been to Carnaval in La Vega Dominican Republic 2 times in 2002 and 2003, I decided to once again visit La Vega, but to also travel to Bonao to check out and video tape the Carnaval celebration in Bonao.Carnaval 2005 Bonao Video Clip

I traveled to Bonao on a bus or as dominicans call it a "gua gua". I arrived in Bonao rather early and decided to walk around a bit. There was not much happening so I headed to Hotel Aquarius and had lunch. The lunch was pretty good and reasonably priced. I had pork chops with white rice and fries plus a frozen lemonade or two. Hotel Aquarius seemed very nice. Certainly the nicest hotel in Bonao.

I then made my way to the park to check out the preparations for Carnaval. It lloked like things would not get going till 4pm or so, so I found a little bar on the main drag that the Carnaval comparsas would be parading down and had a few Presidentes.

Once the Carnaval started it was very similar to Carnaval Vegano with colorful costumes, dancing, drinking, music and of course people getting whacked on their butts by the Carnaval participants. This is apparently done to rid yur body of evil spirits. Some of the guys were getting carried away and really hurting people. This of course makes video taping very difficult as I was constantly getting pushed, shoved, hands stuck in front of the camera etc.

I was able to edit together a short clip that gives a tast of Carnaval in Bonao. I hope you enjoy it and visit my Carnaval page to see more clips of Carnaval. Carnaval Video Clips

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb