Another breezy island day


Advertisement
Published: November 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Another day, another Bahamian island.

In less of a rush to go ashore today as the sun is out and I am eager to grab a couple of loungers, have an early breakfast and soak up some rays, as all my friends tell me the weather in Spain has taken a turn on the cold side.

Did the 'German' thing and put our towels on the sunbeds and had the healthiest breakfast of the trip, no fried food and no bread, just fresh fruit, cold meats and cheeses and very enjoyable it was too. Alex stuck with tradition with a piled high plate!

Lay in a sheltered spot out of the wind and worked on our tans until the tempation to explore the island Of Grand Bahama became too much and we hopped off the ship and into the harbour village.

Not too much to see unless you took a tour of the island, Freeport is very much a trading post and no beaches nearby. A good handful of shops and a Daquiri stall which pulled me in. The strawberry daquiri seemed like a good idea, until ALex wanted to take a photo, I grabbed my (very pink) drink to stop the wind getting it and managed to know it all over the table, me, my new bag, my flip flops, legs, feet, shorts etc. Not in the slightest bit happy, stomped off to the bathroom to attempt to wash it all off. No idea what they put in this stuff but I had pink steaks down my legs and on the soles of my feet for days, luckily my new bag was inside a plastic bag, my shorts were pink anyway and it washed out of my flip flops.

Time to go back to the safety of the ship!

Last visit to the gym and a last run around the jogging track as we sailed out on the last leg of our journey.

A fun evening started with a lovely meal in the 'Crossings' waiter service retaurant but had to rush a bit to make sure we got good seats for the final night show 'Vegas'.

For the four days we were on the ship the entertainment crew did an excellent job, they were a small, young firnedly team and that evening's show was superb, I have seen some dodgy shows in my life in the travel industry but this was really well put together and the singing was first-class.

Caught up with our friends Gerry and Jerry in a quiet bar and chatted cruises with them, said goodbye as we didn't expect we would see them again.

So, last show, last supper, last cocktails, last evening on the pool deck watching the sea and our last 'Towel animal' made by our cabin steward Patrick, a hilarious monkey swinging from the ceiling.

Sadly finished the packing and off to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.349s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0824s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb