Rice paddies, mountains, trekking, and water buffalo


Advertisement
Asia
October 28th 2012
Published: October 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

A week in the mountains in northnern Vietnam was one week I will never forget! I'll give a short history on the place I was volunteering (not too long or else...yawn..)

So, Vietnam has a lot of ethnic minorities (aka little unknown communities who have lived happily on their own before modernization found them). SaPa, the town where I was, has 85% population of these tribal people. It is so neat to see, because unlike other parts of vietnam, they are actually still facinated and happy to see white people. You see these little tribal people (super short) running around with their traditional outfits (which differ from tribe to tribe) on, and it is not a show either. ANYHOW, one of these people, (her name is Shu), started learning english from tourists coming into her village, next thing, she is leading informal treks across the mountains for tourists. She used the money from that to send local kids to school (very unselfish eh?!). So long story short, she now employs around 20 locals to do treks and has 20ish kids that she feeds, clothes, and has in a centre where they are taught english (from volunteers). phew, not too boring?
I'm a monster!I'm a monster!I'm a monster!

This lovely 45 yr old lady followed me for over 2 hours, practising her English, and at the end politely asked me to look at her crafts to buy. So nice... I caved and bought something I will never use
Still with me?!

So, I went to go help in whatever area I could (fingers crossed that I didn't have to deal tooooo much with kids). And God must have known my special skills with children, cause it turns out they needed help in the office this past week 😊 I was reminded of university, writing up a business proposal of sorts to see if they could get a grant (which would help immensly). The place is called Sapa O'Chau, if you want to check it out......

It was the best place to volunteer, because it was in the mountains, which I love, not boiling hot, and pretty peaceful. My first day there, I was in the office for like 1 hour, and vroom, off to a traditial wedding a hour away in the middle of nowhere. It was in a house (not a typical house by Canadian standards), and so much food and rice wine. It was really special to be a part of that! Minus the part where it was dark inside the house (no electricity), and I ate fried blood on noodles. Gag. I just had to suck it up and be polite though. I
Water BuffaloWater BuffaloWater Buffalo

This was in the backyard on my homestay
don't think my face is very good at hiding emotions like that though.

The last night there, I did a two day trek and a homestay (you spend the night in a typical home, eat their food, etc). I had two little guys showing me around for two days, and we showed up a this hut (it was actually one of the bigger, nicer homes there). I couldn't stop laughing because there was 4 other people who showed up to stay at this homestay also. No kidding, they were so old it was difficult for them to walk, nevermind trek ALL DAY! I was sore, I can't imagine a 70 yr old body doing it (mega props to them). The look on their face when they saw their bed (wooden planks with a couple blankets), I just about died. Once again, I'm impressed because they stuck it out. Sometimes tour companies will sell you anything just to make money, even though your not physically able. Still makes me laugh thinking about their expressions

So, I woke up to roosters crowing, and smelling like smoke (they cook inside the house with an open fire, and no chimney). Lovely banana pancake breakfast, then I hiked back for 6 hours, took the dreaded overnight bus, hopped on a plane, and boom, I am now in Bangkok!!

I feel a tad like a kid in a candy store, where anything is available. I just stand and look and think I want it all. Just so many amazing countries to see! I came to Bangkok to apply for a visa to go to Myanmar (aka Burma). ahhh, I need to change my underwear, cause that just scared the crap out me! Part of me thinks to take it easy, but the last thing I want is to spend 6 months on a beach somewhere working on getting skin cancer. Hence me plowing through countries like a maniac. This a moment where I'm asking God for some direction I suppose. He has been the best travel partner and shown me places I didn't even know existed, so I just need to relax and let it happen (I'm preaching to myself here)...


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Motorbike!Motorbike!
Motorbike!

Looooove biking up in the mountains


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb