Planes, Trains and Automobiles...and buses!


Advertisement
Asia
February 8th 2012
Published: February 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Getting there is half the battle...

I don't live near any major airports, so I first searched the cost of a ticket from where I live to Thailand and a round trip ticket was running around $1,500. A bit pricey and a couple hundred more than I payed last year to fly to Singpore and back from Beijing (muti-city flight)

Next I checked from the nearest major airport - O'Hare in Chicago - and it was down to $1,250 round trip - a nice savings of $250. (flying Cathay Packific. I had never heard of them before I started searching)

Now all I need to do is get to Chicago. Well it turns out thats easier than I thought it would be. I can take the Greyhound bus to the Cumberland Station in Chicago and from there catch the Blue Line train (which runs 24 hour) right to O'Hare. Round trip price for the bus ticket: $60. Cost to get to O'Hare: $2. Net saving: $188

So the flight I picked is Chicago to Bangkok with a short stop at Hong Kong. Same route back. I thought about flying out of India, but the cost was more than flying back to Bangkok and leaving from there.

Its all about the budget!

Next up all the visa and flights I'll need bumming around - Bangkok to HCMC. HCMC to Bangkok (or Yangon), Yangon back to Bangkok, Bangkok to Calcutta and New Dehli to Bangkok. 5 flights. Ouch.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb