Getting Visas


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
March 20th 2012
Published: March 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I've figured out where and when I plan on going - Vietnam, Burma and India from May 23rd to August 29th. Next was getting the visas.

Vietnam was pretty straight forward. I went through a Vietnamese travel agency, Tonkin Travel tonkintravel.com for my visa-on-arrival. 3 month multiple entry visa would cost $25 for the visa service and will cost $50 at the airport. $75 total for a 3 month visa? Nice. It cost me around $50 in Phenom Phen last summer to get a single entry visa. All I had to do was send them the day I was arriving and a copy of my passport. Tonkin was very fast and extremely friendly. I highly recommend them.

India was very easy as well. I used the company that the Indian embassy in the U.S. uses as their outsource, Travisa, and got a 10 year multiple entry visa with no problems at all. Quick turn around too. Easy and could track it online.

Burma...what to do about Burma? From what I've read, its easiest to wait until I'm in Thailand and just get it in Bangkok. I'll have my flight nailed down by then so I will know exactly when I'm flying to Yangon. So my plan is to fly into Bangkok from Vietnam and stay for a couple days to get my visa and then fly out.

If anyone knows the Burma visa on arrival situation, please let me know.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0193s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb