Here We Go Again! Vietnam, Myanmar and India '12


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin
February 8th 2012
Published: February 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I don't know about you, but I love to plan for a trip. I can spend hours looking online at places to visit, things to do, travel tips and advice, places to stay, getting around, checking airlines...well maybe not airlines.

I'm in the planning stage now for my Summer 2012 trip to Vietnam, Myanmar (Burma) and India.

Last summer I spent 3 months backpacking around SE Asia. Flying into Singapore - the mall of SE Asia, but a good place to get acclimated - then heading to Malaysia, Indonesia, Back to Singapore, back to Malaysia, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, then up to Beijing China to fly back to the states.

I gave myself 3 months, but it turned out I was a month short...I could only manage 7 days in China before the flight back. (Took the overnight train from Hanoi to Nanning, before catching a flight to Beijing because every train was booked solid for 2 weeks! BTW, Nanning is the kind of place you go to because you need to get somewhere else. There is nothing to do and all day to do it)

This time around I have the same amount of time but fewer countries, even though one of those countries could be its own continent! (I'm sticking to northern India this trip)

I will be flying into Thailand probably, then taking a flight to Ho Chi Mihn City (HCMC) in Vietnam to visit a friend for a couple weeks before flying either back to Thailand for a flight to Myanmar or flying directly from HCMC to Yangon (capital of Myanmar).

From there its back to Bangkok to catch a flight to Calcutta. I've read that its easier and cheaper to fly back to Bangkok from Yangon rather than fly from Yangon to India. But I'll have to see.

So right now its the flight planning stage. I've figured out where I want to go, now just need to get there. This is the part that seems to take the longest because I'm always worried that right after I buy my non-refundable ticket, the airline will announce free flights for everyone!

So, now begin the fun task scouring the internet for the best prices on tickets.

But it could be worse, I could not be looking for flights this summer!

So thats me and this is my blog. I'm hoping to share all the great places I see and things I do and pass along any tips I can think of to make your trip easier.

Here We Go!

Advertisement



9th February 2012

Exchange Link
My site: www.travelvietnam.me Title: Travel Vietnam, Vietnam tour, Vietnam package tour. Des:Vietnam professional local tour operator based in Hanoi specialize in organizing Vietnam tours packages, Vietnam budget tours, Vietnam adventure tours, Vietnam biking and cycling travel package, Vietnam vacations and holidays package and other related travel services such as tickets, visa with comprisable rate and high quality services. Pls send me your site detail. Thanks

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb