Ellora Caves


Advertisement
Asia
March 31st 2006
Published: April 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Get to Aurangabad about 1.00am and received major amounts of hassle, at which point I kinda lost it. too knackered to deal with usual crap.

Got to hotel and finally made it to bed, sharing a room with two french birds...that'll do! And it was their suggestion! No complaints from me!

Karima and I had decided that having seen many sights and the 3 hour journey there and back that Ajanta was off the list. Lawrence (I know - in France it's a girls name). headed off and we went to sort tickets for Goa.

Spent a few hours trying to put credit ons my mobile, which proved a complete waste of time as the bloke siad no probs and then had to find his Hutch sim to be able to do it and making lots of phone calles...kept me waiting for an hour and then told me after his last call that he couldn't do it because I was outside of Delhi and Rajasthan. Useful! Smart move Hutch! and what an eegit!

As the girls were staying an extra day I headed to Ellora Caves on me tod by local bus and got there about midday. Which meant leaving at 2.30pm to get my bus to Goa in the evening.

Gutted. Really impressed by the caves, they carved them out of one piece of solid rock. absolutely amazing...it was helped by the best guide I've had in india so far. Told him as I was on my own I couldn't afford the 250rp for the tour and so we struck a deal that I'd pay what I thought it was worth...clever man...I was now completely endeared to the bloke. Needless to say he was really good, I overpaid him and we ended up speed sight seeing, must have looked a right sight....runnning from cave to cave and getting the explanations on the way!
Best bit and why I gave him more was when in the Buddhist cave he chanted buddhist prayer, the accoustics were awesome and it really brought the place to life

He made me regret missing the Ajanta caves but, you makes your choices...still couldn't stop thinking on the bus all the way to Goa that I should head back up if I get the chance.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb