Halong Bay fun


Advertisement
Asia
May 29th 2010
Published: May 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I'm back from Halong Bay and it was phenomenal! The views of the bay are incredible will tons and tons of huge limestone "islands" all over the place. Plus the group I went with has turned out to be a lot of fun and I'll continue on with a couple people for a few days hopefully.
Wednesday we hoped on the boat and cruised around the bay for a bit. Eventually we stopped and did some swimming from out huge 3 level junk ship then went kayaking to explore a cave. The first night ended up being a relax evening of just having some drinks and hanging out.
In the morning we switched to a smaller boat which took us to a private beach on Cat Ba island. The beach was nice with really rustic grass huts to stay in for the night. Then I got to go WAKEBOARDING!!!!! The water was super wavy and the boat wasn't very fast but I had a blast and was so happy to be back behind a boat again!! I can't wait to getting up to Shawnigan lake sometime this summer even if its just for a quick weekend...lets hope i get that chance to head up there. Plus, I ended up being just as good as the instructor and probably the best boarder there (a little nudge for my ego).
Thursday night was a crazy night and we ended up going a little crazy. We started drinking games at 7pm and ended up staying up until 3am and the night involved plenty of dancing, swimming, handstands, crossdressing, and much much more. Such a fun night!!! Everyone in the group was awesome. In the morning despite being a bit hungover we left to head back to the big ship and eventually head back to port then back to Hanoi. The trip was definitley worth the $125 for the 3 days.
Last night and today I've just been explore Hanoi and bit and eating some delicious street food. We also went into a restaurant and ordered some stir fryed fighting cock, haha, which turned out to not be very good (too stringy) but was nevertheless interesting to try. I love vietnamese food sooooooooo much. Even better than Thai. I'm heading out soon to watch some water pupetry (to see a little culture) then I'm hoping on a night sleeper bus to move on to Hue and Hoi An next. I'll try to get some pics of Laos and Vietnam so far on facebook when I get a chance.
ps. I have found out that I got accepted to physio at Western and was put on a wait list for U of A. I have turned both down and will definitely be going to UBC in the fall 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb