Tailors and Motorbikes


Advertisement
Asia
June 1st 2010
Published: June 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

I'm in Hoi An right now and am loving all the tailors here for custom clothing. I am not exaggerating when I say there are hundreds of tailors EVERYWHERE!!! I've heard that there is estimated to be between 350-500 of them in Hoi An alone. So needless to say, the big thing here is to get some custom made clothing. I'm getting a pair of dress pants, a beautiful silk dress, a long wool winter jacket, a short lighter winter jacket and a skirt for $113!!!! Love it.
Hue wasn't terribly exciting but that might have been because its been insanely hot for the last few days (and I'm guessing it will only get worse as I continue to move south). In Hue it was too hot to do much and although I tried to see as much of the city as I could, halfway through my day there I gave up and found a hotel with a pool to use.
Yesterday, I left Hue with 3 Danes and motorbiked to Hoi An. Mom and Dad, I swear it wasn't as dangerous as your thinking. The two guys got their own bikes but Kia and I decided to go on the back of a guides bike. It was a great way to make the trip and the scenery was incredible with beautiful mountain passes and ocean and beach views. Plus we got to stop at a waterfall for a swim where we were the only foreigners there. It was fantastic and if anyone is planning on doing this trip I highly recommend doing some travelling by bike.
Tomorrow, after I get all my clothing fitted and done we'll be hoping on another sleeper bus to head to Nha Trang for a quick beach and party stop. I'm officially halfway through my trip with 4 weeks remaining but have been feeling crammed for time right from the beginning. So much to do, so little time.
ps. Sleeper buses are the best. Literally a bus with tons of beds in them. Brilliant!
pps. I am shocked at myself but I am started to want western food more and more and local food less and less. WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME???? (Actually, I really want the vermicelli rice noodles and bbq pork bowl with salad rolls and peanut sause from Pho Vys right now but I can't find anything quite the same here).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb