I survived Laos Airlines


Advertisement
Asia
May 25th 2010
Published: May 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, I arrived in Hanoi today after flying with the infamous Laos Airlines (refuses to release their safety records and notorious for bad safety history) and within less than two hours of arriving in the country I had already been ripped off. I was dropped off at a hostel with a sign that said "backpackers hostels" and when I asked if it was the Hanoi Backpackers Hostel they said yes (liars!). They also told me there was dormrooms for $6 when I was still in the car then when I got in the place they only had double rooms (more lies). The room was VERY nice and a reasonable price (bit more than i'd usually pay) but there was no one else staying there from what I could see and the place I had been expecting would have been a very busy hostel where I could meet other travelers. They made me pay right away and I also put a deposit on a trip to Halong Bay. But as soon as i left the hostel, I quickly realized that i was no where near where I thought I was. So I went back and told them I wanted to leave and wanted my money back because they had lied to me. Well that didn't fly so well but after much arguing (and me crying out of frustration for those of you who know how i get when i'm angry) i managed to get most of my money back but still got stuck giving them nearly $30!!!!!!!!!! So pissed about that.
But then I got to the actual hostel I was looking for and its awesome! Exactly what I was wanting! Plus I've already booked a 3 day trip to Halong Bay starting tomorrow that includes a wakeboarding session!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sooooo excited (just incase the exclamation points didn't give that away).
Anyways, no updates from me for at least 3 days but I should be having a blast!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb