Great Wall day 2


Advertisement
Asia
May 21st 2009
Published: May 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Both Mike and I got up by 4 a.m. To rosters crowing
Dogs barking, cats crying and people banging around.
Finally I heard the hotel owner ask Mike if he wanted coffee so
got up as well since the sun was up. There is only 1 time zone in
China so it gets light early at Samati.
We both had some coffee then took off to walk up to the Great Wall.
The hike was quiet with few people on the trail and no one on the wall
Around us. We came up at tower 2 and walked to 5. Maybe I should say hike.
Some steps we nearly as high as my knee and some so small that I had
T side step. I was carrying my pack with big camera plus the tripod. But at
Least I was wearing hiking boots rather than Tevas.
While walking back down the zipline operator showed up and Mile decided to do
that. Because I was carrying a load anyway I just walked but it looked fun.
I was very disappointed that my photo .message would not send from the top
of the wall but I did twitter.
From the Great Wall we went to the Summer Palace, a place the emperor used in
the summer. A large lake is in the center with several buildings built on the hill.
An island is in the center with trees and paths around. You can get to the island by
Boats shaped like dragons or over a carved bridge with 17 arches under.
A quick stop at the Pearl Market where I broke down and bought a ipod nano for $20.
Wonder if it will work.
Internet is off and on today so I don't know if everything will post or not but i'll try.
Otherwise i'll try tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.449s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 13; qc: 39; dbt: 0.1434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb